Retraining Report
Find training

Diesel mechanic training in Maine

4 diesel mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these diesel mechanic programs, and Maine has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Diesel mechanics inspect and repair buses and trucks and maintain diesel engines of every kind. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and degrees in diesel repair, employers may require or prefer certification, and some jobs need a commercial driver's license to test-drive trucks and buses.1 In Maine, 1 of the 4 programs takes students without a high school diploma, and all 4 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 4 programs

How much does diesel mechanic training cost in Maine?

$799 to $4,828

is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
Length
Not reported

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Maine may also offer diesel mechanic training. How these figures are made

Is there free diesel mechanic training in Maine?

All 4 diesel mechanic programs in Maine approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • Short course or single classHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Diesel Hydraulics Technology

    Northern Maine Community College

    Presque Isle

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northern Maine Community College, Presque Isle · Short course or single class · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$49,600
    Price if you pay yourself$2,688
    School website, Diesel Hydraulics Technology at Northern Maine Community College
    More details about Diesel Hydraulics Technology at Northern Maine Community College
    Finished
    65%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,400
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    17
    a year, estimated
    $49,600
    price
    $2,688
  • Medium and heavy truck technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Diesel Mechanics/Heavy Truck Maintenance

    Penn Foster

    Based in Scranton, PA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Penn Foster, based in Scranton, PA · Medium and heavy truck technician · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$799
    School website, Diesel Mechanics/Heavy Truck Maintenance at Penn Foster
    More details about Diesel Mechanics/Heavy Truck Maintenance at Penn Foster
    Finished
    55%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    11
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $799
  • Diesel technician certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    Diesel Engine Mechanic and Repairer

    Washington County Community College

    Calais

    No diploma needed

    Washington County Community College, Calais · Diesel technician certificate or diploma · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,034
    Program website, Diesel Engine Mechanic and Repairer at Washington County Community College
    More details about Diesel Engine Mechanic and Repairer at Washington County Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,034
  • Diesel technology (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Diesel Truck and Heavy Equipment Technology AAS

    Eastern Maine Community College

    Bangor

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastern Maine Community College, Bangor · Diesel technology (associate degree) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,828
    School website, Diesel Truck and Heavy Equipment Technology AAS at Eastern Maine Community College
    More details about Diesel Truck and Heavy Equipment Technology AAS at Eastern Maine Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,828

How to pay for diesel mechanic training in Maine

WIOA funding can pay for diesel mechanic training in Maine

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for diesel mechanic training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for diesel mechanic training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Maine diesel mechanic program numbers come from

Which Maine diesel mechanic programs are on this list?

These are the diesel mechanic programs Maine approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Maine offers.

How the prices and results of Maine diesel mechanic programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Other training in Maine

Sources for the facts about diesel mechanic training in Maine

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Diesel Service Technicians and Mechanics
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List