Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical lab technician programs in Maine

2 medical lab programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these medical lab programs, and Maine has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians run the medical lab tests used to diagnose, treat and prevent disease. Most need a bachelor's degree, though technicians sometimes qualify with an associate degree and some vocational and technical schools offer technician certificates; some states require a license, and employers may prefer certification.1

In Maine, both programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

Both are the same kind of program: medical lab technician (associate degree).

See the 2 programs

How much do medical lab technician programs cost in Maine?

$13,600

is the price of the one program that lists a price, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
92%
Working 6 months later
100%
Earned a year, estimated
about $49,900
Length
Not reported
Neither program reports it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Maine may also offer medical lab technician programs. How these figures are made

Are there free medical lab technician programs in Maine?

All 2 medical lab programs in Maine approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Lab Technology

    University of Maine at Augusta

    Augusta

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Maine at Augusta, AugustaMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$49,900
    Price if you pay yourself$13,600

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Medical Lab Technology at University of Maine at Augusta
    More details about Medical Lab Technology at University of Maine at Augusta
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,482
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    $49,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,600
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    School website, Medical Lab Technology at University of Maine at Augusta
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Laboratory Technology Program of Maine

    University of Maine at Presque Isle

    Presque Isle

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Maine at Presque Isle, Presque IsleMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology Program of Maine at University of Maine at Presque Isle
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technology Program of Maine at University of Maine at Presque Isle
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology Program of Maine at University of Maine at Presque Isle

How to pay for medical lab technician programs in Maine

WIOA funding can pay for medical lab technician programs in Maine

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical lab technician programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical lab technician programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Maine

How medical lab technician programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Maine

Where the Maine medical lab program numbers come from

Which Maine medical lab programs are on this list?

These are the medical lab programs Maine approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Maine offers.

How the prices and results of Maine medical lab programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about medical lab technician programs in Maine

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List