Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

CNC machinist training in Colorado

19 CNC machinist programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these machinist programs, and Colorado has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 8 of these 19 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Machinists set up and run equipment, including computer-controlled (CNC) machines, to make precision metal parts and tools. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and two-year degrees that teach reading engineering drawings and programming CNC machines.1

In Colorado, 15 of the 19 programs take students without a high school diploma, 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent and 3 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 19 programs here are short course or single class (14 programs) and machinist certificate or diploma (5 programs).

See the 19 programs

How much does CNC machinist training cost in Colorado?

$3,087 to $9,412 is what most CNC machinist programs in Colorado cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 19 programs with a price. All of them: $1,892 to $17,635

In the typical program

Finished the program
33%
Working 6 months later
45%
Earned a year, estimated
about $31,400
Length
Left out
The 14 figures filed fail our checks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Colorado may also offer CNC machinist training. How these figures are made

Is there free CNC machinist training in Colorado?

All 19 CNC machinist programs in Colorado approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

19 programs

  • Machinist certificate or diplomaHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Precision Machining

    Red Rocks Community College

    Lakewood

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Red Rocks Community College, LakewoodMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,062
    School website, Precision Machining at Red Rocks Community College
    More details about Precision Machining at Red Rocks Community College
    Finished
    20%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,650
    Students counted
    90
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,062
    School website, Precision Machining at Red Rocks Community College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 3

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$36,400
    Price if you pay yourself$17,635
    Program website, Machining Technology 3 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 3 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    53%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,112
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $3,800
    Students counted
    70
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,635
    Program website, Machining Technology 3 at Pueblo Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Precision/Computer Aided Machining

    Front Range Community College

    Westminster

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Front Range Community College, WestminsterMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$39,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,783
    Program website, Precision/Computer Aided Machining at Front Range Community College
    More details about Precision/Computer Aided Machining at Front Range Community College
    Finished
    50%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,943
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $2,190
    Students counted
    53

    Listed 3 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $39,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,783
    Program website, Precision/Computer Aided Machining at Front Range Community College
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 7

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$24,500
    Price if you pay yourself$9,412
    School website, Machining Technology 7 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 7 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    24%
    Working at 6 months
    46%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,132
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $3,600
    Students counted
    50
    Earned a year, estimated
    $24,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,412
    School website, Machining Technology 7 at Pikes Peak State College
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 4

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$47,600
    Price if you pay yourself$9,412
    School website, Machining Technology 4 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 4 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    44%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,907
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $3,600
    Students counted
    33
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,412
    School website, Machining Technology 4 at Pikes Peak State College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 6

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$31,400
    Price if you pay yourself$3,087
    Program website, Machining Technology 6 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 6 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    41%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,855
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $414
    Students counted
    28
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,087
    Program website, Machining Technology 6 at Pueblo Community College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 7

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$31,400
    Price if you pay yourself$3,087
    Program website, Machining Technology 7 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 7 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    41%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,855
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $414
    Students counted
    28
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,087
    Program website, Machining Technology 7 at Pueblo Community College
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 5

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$43,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,394
    Program website, Machining Technology 5 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 5 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    22%
    Working at 6 months
    33%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,944
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $2,126
    Students counted
    22
    Earned a year, estimated
    $43,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,394
    Program website, Machining Technology 5 at Pikes Peak State College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    General Machining Certificate

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$27,500
    Price if you pay yourself$10,800
    Program website, General Machining Certificate at Pueblo Community College
    More details about General Machining Certificate at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    46%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,871
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $3,600
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,800
    Program website, General Machining Certificate at Pueblo Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    Machine Technologies

    Community College of Denver

    Denver

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Community College of Denver, DenverMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$19,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,206
    Program website, Machine Technologies at Community College of Denver
    More details about Machine Technologies at Community College of Denver
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,853
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    12
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,206
    Program website, Machine Technologies at Community College of Denver
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 1

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$25,800
    Price if you pay yourself$4,541
    Program website, Machining Technology 1 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 1 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    27%
    Working at 6 months
    36%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,447
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,126
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,541
    Program website, Machining Technology 1 at Pikes Peak State College
  • Short course or single classHybridNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 1

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,980
    Program website, Machining Technology 1 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 1 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,980
    Program website, Machining Technology 1 at Pueblo Community College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 2

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,892
    Program website, Machining Technology 2 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 2 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $233
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,892
    Program website, Machining Technology 2 at Pueblo Community College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 4

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,405
    Program website, Machining Technology 4 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 4 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $68
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,405
    Program website, Machining Technology 4 at Pueblo Community College
  • Short course or single classIn personNo diploma needed

    Machining Technology 5

    Pueblo Community College

    Pueblo

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Pueblo Community College, PuebloShort course or single class · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,405
    Program website, Machining Technology 5 at Pueblo Community College
    More details about Machining Technology 5 at Pueblo Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $68
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,405
    Program website, Machining Technology 5 at Pueblo Community College
  • Machinist certificate or diplomaHybridNo diploma needed

    MACHINE TECHNOLOGIES: Basic Machining

    Community College of Denver

    Denver

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Community College of Denver, DenverMachinist certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,361
    Program website, MACHINE TECHNOLOGIES: Basic Machining at Community College of Denver
    More details about MACHINE TECHNOLOGIES: Basic Machining at Community College of Denver
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,361
    Program website, MACHINE TECHNOLOGIES: Basic Machining at Community College of Denver
  • Short course or single classHybridEducation and courses

    Machining Technology 3

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,946
    Program website, Machining Technology 3 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 3 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $2,165
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,946
    Program website, Machining Technology 3 at Pikes Peak State College
  • Short course or single classHybridEducation and courses

    Machining Technology 6

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,774
    Program website, Machining Technology 6 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 6 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $2,188
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,774
    Program website, Machining Technology 6 at Pikes Peak State College
  • Short course or single classHybridEducation and courses

    Machining Technology 2

    Pikes Peak State College

    Colorado Springs

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Pikes Peak State College, Colorado SpringsShort course or single class · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,955
    Program website, Machining Technology 2 at Pikes Peak State College
    More details about Machining Technology 2 at Pikes Peak State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $3,338
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,955
    Program website, Machining Technology 2 at Pikes Peak State College

How to pay for CNC machinist training in Colorado

WIOA funding can pay for CNC machinist training in Colorado

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Paid machinist apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6

Financial aid and grants for CNC machinist training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for CNC machinist training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: CNC machinist training in Colorado

programs with a price cost under $3,000
4 of 19
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
24th of 34
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
0 of 15
CNC machinist programs here, against the typical state's 12
19 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the CNC machinist training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Machinist apprenticeships in Colorado

A machinist apprenticeship is usually run by an employer. It combines paid training on the job with related classes and lasts several years.1

You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the CNC machinist programs on this page is an apprenticeship.

CNC machinist training in Pueblo, Colorado Springs, Denver and other Colorado cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in Colorado

How CNC machinist training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Colorado

Where the Colorado machinist program numbers come from

Which Colorado machinist programs are on this list?

These are the machinist programs Colorado approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Colorado offers.

How the prices and results of Colorado machinist programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Colorado figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Colorado among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the facts about CNC machinist training in Colorado

Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Machinists and Tool and Die Makers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  11. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns