Cybersecurity training in the District of Columbia
1 cybersecurity program with costs, results and funding that can make it free
One school offers this cybersecurity program, and the District of Columbia has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Information security analysts protect an organization's computer networks and systems. Most have a bachelor's degree in a computer field and work experience, though some start with a high school diploma plus industry training and certifications, and many employers prefer certified candidates.1 In the District of Columbia, the one program asks for a diploma or other schooling first.
See the programMore nearby: 73 cybersecurity programs in the Washington, DC area
How much does cybersecurity training cost in the District of Columbia?
$5,000
is what this program costs if you pay yourself
This program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in the District of Columbia may also offer cybersecurity training. How these figures are made
The one cybersecurity program in the District of Columbia approved for WIOA funding
Filters
1 program
CompTIA Security+
Toni Thomas Associates
Washington
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000School website, CompTIA Security+ at Toni Thomas AssociatesMore details about CompTIA Security+ at Toni Thomas Associates
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for cybersecurity training in the District of Columbia
WIOA funding can pay for cybersecurity training in the District of Columbia
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for cybersecurity training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for cybersecurity training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the District of Columbia cybersecurity program numbers come from
Which the District of Columbia cybersecurity programs are on this list?
These are the cybersecurity programs the District of Columbia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the District of Columbia offers.
How the prices and results of the District of Columbia cybersecurity programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the District of Columbia figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists the District of Columbia among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Other training in the District of Columbia
Sources for the facts about cybersecurity training in the District of Columbia
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Information Security Analysts
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns