Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Job training programs in Santa Cruz, California

49 programs in 23 fields, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these programs with classes in the Santa Cruz-Watsonville area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

All job training programs in California, including online programs

Compare job training in Santa Cruz: cost, pay and results

A field with too few programs here for a page of its own opens the California list, filtered to the Santa Cruz-Watsonville area.

Job training in Santa Cruz, by field
TrainingProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Culinary school10$100 to $3,092Not reportedNot reported97%
Medical assistant training4Too few figures to show
Business administration programs4Too few figures to show
Dental assistant programs3Too few figures to show
IT training3Too few figures to show
Accounting and bookkeeping classes3Too few figures to show
Early childhood education programs2Too few figures to show
Administrative assistant training2Too few figures to show
Construction training programs2Too few figures to show
Web and graphic design courses2Too few figures to show
Human services programs2Too few figures to show
CNA classes1Too few figures to show
CDL training1Too few figures to show
Phlebotomy training1Too few figures to show
Pharmacy technician training1Too few figures to show
RN programs1Too few figures to show
EKG technician programs1Too few figures to show
Fire academy1Too few figures to show
Radiology tech programs1Too few figures to show
Dental hygiene programs1Too few figures to show
Addiction counselor training1Too few figures to show
Digital marketing courses1Too few figures to show
Personal trainer certification1Too few figures to show

Each figure is the middle program of that field in this area. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate.Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Santa Cruz may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in Santa Cruz?

Where the Santa Cruz job training numbers come from

Which Santa Cruz programs are counted?

Programs with classes in the Santa Cruz-Watsonville area that the state they're in approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). Online programs are on the state pages. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Santa Cruz offers.

What the figures for each field mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the funding facts about job training in Santa Cruz

Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List