Retraining Report
Find training

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Oregon

13 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs, and Oregon has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 In Oregon, 10 of the 13 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 5 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 13 programs

How much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Oregon?

Certificates and short courses (7 programs)
$3,169 to $5,848most of them, usually 26 to 41 weeks long
Two-year degrees (6 programs)
$11,288 to $12,159most of them, usually 66 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
Working 6 months later
100%
Earned a year, estimated
about $39,700
Length
33 to 66 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Oregon may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made

Are there free accounting and bookkeeping classes in Oregon?

Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Salem, Portland, Bend and other Oregon cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 program is online.

All 13 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Oregon approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

13 programs

  • Accounting (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Accounting - Accounting Associate of Applied Science

    Chemeketa Community College

    Salem

    No diploma needed

    Chemeketa Community College, Salem · Accounting (associate degree) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$39,700
    Price if you pay yourself$9,915
    Program website, Accounting - Accounting Associate of Applied Science at Chemeketa Community College
    More details about Accounting - Accounting Associate of Applied Science at Chemeketa Community College
    Finished
    15%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,929
    Length
    66 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,950
    Students counted
    76
    a year, estimated
    $39,700
    price
    $9,915
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Clackamas Community College

    Oregon City

    No diploma needed

    Clackamas Community College, Oregon City · Accounting (associate degree) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$51,600
    Price if you pay yourself$11,698
    Program website, Accounting at Clackamas Community College
    More details about Accounting at Clackamas Community College
    Finished
    23%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,888
    Length
    66 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,615
    Students counted
    37
    a year, estimated
    $51,600
    price
    $11,698
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Business Administration: Accounting

    Central Oregon Community College

    Bend

    No diploma needed

    Central Oregon Community College, Bend · Accounting (associate degree) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$34,700
    Price if you pay yourself$11,695
    Program website, Business Administration: Accounting at Central Oregon Community College
    More details about Business Administration: Accounting at Central Oregon Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,687
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    16
    a year, estimated
    $34,700
    price
    $11,695
  • Accounting certificateIn personNo diploma needed

    Accounting - Accounting Certificate of Completion

    Chemeketa Community College

    Salem

    No diploma needed

    Chemeketa Community College, Salem · Accounting certificate · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$32,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,597
    Program website, Accounting - Accounting Certificate of Completion at Chemeketa Community College
    More details about Accounting - Accounting Certificate of Completion at Chemeketa Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,184
    Length
    33 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,350
    Students counted
    12
    a year, estimated
    $32,700
    price
    $4,597
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Accounting Clerk

    Clackamas Community College

    Oregon City

    No diploma needed

    Clackamas Community College, Oregon City · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$64,900
    Price if you pay yourself$6,162
    Program website, Accounting Clerk at Clackamas Community College
    More details about Accounting Clerk at Clackamas Community College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,213
    Length
    33 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $865
    Students counted
    11
    a year, estimated
    $64,900
    price
    $6,162
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseHybridPrerequisite courses

    Entry-Level Accounting Clerk

    Portland Community College

    Portland

    Prerequisite courses

    Portland Community College, Portland · Bookkeeping certificate or course · Hybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,887
    Program website, Entry-Level Accounting Clerk at Portland Community College
    More details about Entry-Level Accounting Clerk at Portland Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    23 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $425
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,887
  • PayrollIn personNo diploma needed

    Accounting - Payroll Certificate of Completion

    Chemeketa Community College

    Salem

    No diploma needed

    Chemeketa Community College, Salem · Payroll · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,125
    Program website, Accounting - Payroll Certificate of Completion at Chemeketa Community College
    More details about Accounting - Payroll Certificate of Completion at Chemeketa Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    44 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $680
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,125
  • Accounting certificateHybridPrerequisite courses

    Accelerated Accounting

    Portland Community College

    Portland

    Prerequisite courses

    Portland Community College, Portland · Accounting certificate · Hybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,213
    Program website, Accelerated Accounting at Portland Community College
    More details about Accelerated Accounting at Portland Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    22 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $900
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,213
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Accounting Clerk

    Central Oregon Community College

    Bend

    No diploma needed

    Central Oregon Community College, Bend · Bookkeeping certificate or course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,533
    Program website, Accounting Clerk at Central Oregon Community College
    More details about Accounting Clerk at Central Oregon Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,250
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,533
  • Accounting (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Accounting Administrative Assistant Associate of Applied Science Degree Option

    Chemeketa Community College

    Salem

    No diploma needed

    Chemeketa Community College, Salem · Accounting (associate degree) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,152
    Program website, Accounting Administrative Assistant Associate of Applied Science Degree Option at Chemeketa Community College
    More details about Accounting Administrative Assistant Associate of Applied Science Degree Option at Chemeketa Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    88 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,722
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $11,152
  • Bookkeeping certificate or courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Accounting Administrative Assistant

    Chemeketa Community College

    Salem

    No diploma needed

    Chemeketa Community College, Salem · Bookkeeping certificate or course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,174
    Program website, Accounting Administrative Assistant at Chemeketa Community College
    More details about Accounting Administrative Assistant at Chemeketa Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    66 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $11,174
  • Accounting (associate degree)HybridPrerequisite courses

    Accounting

    Portland Community College

    Portland

    Prerequisite courses

    Portland Community College, Portland · Accounting (associate degree) · Hybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,313
    Program website, Accounting at Portland Community College
    More details about Accounting at Portland Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    66 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,200
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $12,313
  • Accounting (associate degree)OnlineNo diploma needed

    Accounting

    Oregon Coast Community College

    Based in Newport, OR

    No diploma needed

    Oregon Coast Community College, based in Newport, OR · Accounting (associate degree) · Online · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,156
    Program website, Accounting at Oregon Coast Community College
    More details about Accounting at Oregon Coast Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    66 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $13,156

How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Oregon

WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Oregon

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Oregon

programs with a price cost under $5,000
4 of 13
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
36th of 36
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
15 of 19
accounting and bookkeeping programs here, against the typical state's 12
13 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the accounting and bookkeeping classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the Oregon accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from

Which Oregon accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?

These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs Oregon approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Oregon offers.

How Oregon accounting and bookkeeping program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some accounting and bookkeeping programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Other training in Oregon

Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Oregon

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List