Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Surgical tech programs in Montana

3 surgical tech programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

3 schools offer these surgical technology programs, and Montana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Surgical technologists, also called operating room technicians, prepare operating rooms, arrange the equipment and help doctors during surgery. Most have a certificate or an associate degree from an accredited program, and some employers require certification.1

In Montana, all 3 programs take students without a high school diploma.

By kind, the 3 programs here are surgical technology certificate or diploma (2 programs) and surgical tech apprenticeship (1 program).

See the 3 programs

How much do surgical tech programs cost in Montana?

$4,000 to $17,020

is what the 2 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Montana may also offer surgical tech programs. How these figures are made

Are there free surgical tech programs in Montana?

All 3 surgical tech programs in Montana approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

3 programs

  • Surgical tech apprenticeshipHybridNo diploma needed

    Surgical Technology

    Msu - Great Falls College

    Great Falls

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Msu - Great Falls College, Great FallsSurgical tech apprenticeship · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$52,000
    Price if you pay yourself$17,020
    Program website, Surgical Technology at Msu - Great Falls College
    More details about Surgical Technology at Msu - Great Falls College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,006
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    20
    Earned a year, estimated
    $52,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,020
    Program website, Surgical Technology at Msu - Great Falls College
  • Surgical technology certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Surgical Technology

    Missoula College Of Technology

    Missoula

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Missoula College Of Technology, MissoulaSurgical technology certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$49,300
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Surgical Technology at Missoula College Of Technology
    More details about Surgical Technology at Missoula College Of Technology
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,326
    Length
    45 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    11
    Earned a year, estimated
    $49,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, Surgical Technology at Missoula College Of Technology
  • Surgical technology certificate or diplomaOnlineNo diploma needed

    Surgical Technologist

    Medcerts LLC

    Based in Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    Medcerts LLC, based in Livonia, MISurgical technology certificate or diplomaOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, Surgical Technologist at Medcerts LLC
    More details about Surgical Technologist at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, Surgical Technologist at Medcerts LLC

How to pay for surgical tech programs in Montana

WIOA funding can pay for surgical tech programs in Montana

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for surgical tech programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for surgical tech programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Surgical tech programs in Great Falls, Missoula and other Montana cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 program is online.

Other training in Montana

How surgical tech programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Montana

Where the Montana surgical technology program numbers come from

Which Montana surgical technology programs are on this list?

These are the surgical technology programs Montana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Montana offers.

How the prices and results of Montana surgical technology programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about surgical tech programs in Montana

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Surgical Technologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List