Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

RN programs in North Dakota

11 RN (registered nurse) programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

11 schools offer these RN programs, and North Dakota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Registered nurses provide and coordinate patient care and teach patients and their families about health conditions. To work as one, you graduate from an approved nursing program (a bachelor's or associate degree in nursing, or a hospital diploma) and pass a licensing exam for your state nursing license.1 The exam is the NCLEX-RN from the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, which the nursing boards of every state, DC and four US territories use in deciding who gets a license.2

In North Dakota, all 11 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 11 programs here are RN bachelor's degree (BSN, 6 programs) and RN associate degree (ADN, 5 programs).

See the 11 programs

How much do RN programs cost in North Dakota?

Two-year degrees (5 programs)
$11,338 to $13,092most of them, usually 80 weeks long
Bachelor's degrees (6 programs)
$32,960 to $66,106most of them, usually 160 weeks long

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
68%
Working 6 months later
93%
Earned a year, estimated
about $60,400
Length
80 to 160 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Dakota may also offer RN programs. How these figures are made

Are there free RN programs in North Dakota?

All 11 RN programs in North Dakota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing

    University of North Dakota

    Grand Forks

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of North Dakota, Grand ForksRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$78,300
    Price if you pay yourself$55,160
    More details about Nursing at University of North Dakota
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $19,583
    Length
    160 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    585
    Earned a year, estimated
    $78,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $55,160
  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing

    North Dakota State University

    Fargo

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    North Dakota State University, FargoRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$41,500
    Price if you pay yourself$56,226
    More details about Nursing at North Dakota State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,375
    Length
    160 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    482
    Earned a year, estimated
    $41,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $56,226
  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing

    University of Mary

    Bismarck

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Mary, BismarckRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$60,000
    Price if you pay yourself$69,400
    More details about Nursing at University of Mary
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    94%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,010
    Length
    160 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    453
    Earned a year, estimated
    $60,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $69,400
  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing

    Minot State University

    Minot

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minot State University, MinotRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$61,500
    Price if you pay yourself$25,560
    More details about Nursing at Minot State University
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,380
    Length
    160 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    264
    Earned a year, estimated
    $61,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $25,560
  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing

    University of Jamestown

    Jamestown

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Jamestown, JamestownRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$57,900
    Price if you pay yourself$79,480
    More details about Nursing at University of Jamestown
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    97%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,472
    Length
    160 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    203
    Earned a year, estimated
    $57,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $79,480
  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing

    Mayville State University

    Mayville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mayville State University, MayvilleRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$64,300
    Price if you pay yourself$25,520
    More details about Nursing at Mayville State University
    Finished
    57%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,077
    Length
    160 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    128
    Earned a year, estimated
    $64,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $25,520
  • RN associate degree (ADN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Associate Degree Nursing

    Lake Region State College

    Devils Lake

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Region State College, Devils LakeRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$60,800
    Price if you pay yourself$10,649
    More details about Associate Degree Nursing at Lake Region State College
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,200
    Length
    80 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    54
    Earned a year, estimated
    $60,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,649
  • RN associate degree (ADN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Associate in Science in Nursing (RN)

    ND State College of Science

    Wahpeton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    ND State College of Science, WahpetonRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$75,900
    Price if you pay yourself$13,092

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Associate in Science in Nursing (RN) at ND State College of Science
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $18,974
    Length
    80 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    26
    Earned a year, estimated
    $75,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,092
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
  • RN associate degree (ADN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing -Associate Degree Nurse (ADN)

    Bismarck State College

    Bismarck

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Bismarck State College, BismarckRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,700
    Price if you pay yourself$14,050

    18 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Nursing -Associate Degree Nurse (ADN) at Bismarck State College
    Finished
    44%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,170
    Length
    80 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    20
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,050
    students trained with WIOA funding
    18
  • RN associate degree (ADN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Associate Degree Nurse

    Dakota College at Bottineau

    Bottineau

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dakota College at Bottineau, BottineauRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,000
    Price if you pay yourself$11,338

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Associate Degree Nurse at Dakota College at Bottineau
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,491
    Length
    80 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,338
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
  • RN associate degree (ADN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing AAS Degree

    Williston State College

    Williston

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Williston State College, WillistonRN associate degree (ADN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,062
    More details about Nursing AAS Degree at Williston State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,062

How to pay for RN programs in North Dakota

WIOA funding can pay for RN programs in North Dakota

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for RN programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for RN programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

LPN or RN in North Dakota?

The programs North Dakota approved for workforce funding in each, side by side. The figures are the typical program's, as on the two pages.

LPNRNthis page
Programs5 at 5 schools11 at 11 schools
Most cost, if you pay yourself$7,842 to $14,542Two-year degrees$11,338 to $13,092Bachelor's degrees$32,960 to $66,106
Length40 weeks80 to 160 weeks
Finished the programNot enough data68%
Working 6 months laterNot enough data93%
Earned a year, estimatedNot enough dataabout $60,400
Trained with WIOA fundingat least 15 peopleat least 33 people

LPN vs RN nationwide: what each job does, the license exams and how to get from one to the other

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024. Earnings are the second quarter after leaving the program, times four.

Quick facts: RN programs in North Dakota

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
35th of 39
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
21 of 31
RN programs here, against the typical state's 17
11 vs 17

State comparisons use the same figures as the RN programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

RN programs in Bismarck, Grand Forks, Fargo and other North Dakota cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area, 3 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in North Dakota

How RN programs compare with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in North Dakota

Where the North Dakota RN program numbers come from

Which North Dakota RN programs are on this list?

These are the RN programs North Dakota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Dakota offers.

How the prices and results of North Dakota RN programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about RN programs in North Dakota

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Registered Nurses
  2. National Council of State Boards of Nursing: U.S. Members
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List