Cosmetology school in North Dakota
2 cosmetology programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these cosmetology programs, and North Dakota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Hairstylists and cosmetologists shampoo, cut, color and style hair. Every state requires a license: you finish a state-approved program, which usually leads to a certificate, and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In North Dakota, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 2 programsHow much does cosmetology school cost in North Dakota?
$18,450 to $18,599
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- 40%
- Working 6 months later
- 70%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $27,000
- Length
- 43 to 56 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in North Dakota may also offer cosmetology school. How these figures are made
Cosmetology school in Williston, Fargo and other North Dakota cities
Choosing an area filters the list below.
All 2 cosmetology programs in North Dakota approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Cosmetology
The Hair Society Institute of Cosmetology Inc
Williston
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,000Price if you pay yourself$18,59925 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Cosmetology at The Hair Society Institute of Cosmetology Inc
- Finished
- 40%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,749
- Length
- 43 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,630
- Students counted
- 28
- a year, estimated
- $27,000
- price
- $18,599
- trained with WIOA funding
- 25
Cosmetology
Salon Professional Academy (The)
Fargo
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$18,4507 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Cosmetology at Salon Professional Academy (The)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 56 weeks, 34 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,750
- Students counted
- 83
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $18,450
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for cosmetology school in North Dakota
WIOA funding can pay for cosmetology school in North Dakota
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for cosmetology school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for cosmetology school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the North Dakota cosmetology program numbers come from
Which North Dakota cosmetology programs are on this list?
These are the cosmetology programs North Dakota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what North Dakota offers.
How the prices and results of North Dakota cosmetology programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in North Dakota
- CDL training13 programs
- CNA classes5 programs
- Medical assistant training2 programs
- Phlebotomy training1 program
- Welding classes21 programs
- HVAC training2 programs
- LPN programs5 programs
- EMT classes7 programs
- Electrician training2 programs
- Dental assistant programs1 program
- Auto mechanic classes7 programs
- Pharmacy technician training2 programs
- Plumbing school2 programs
- CNC machinist training1 program
- Carpentry classes4 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training1 program
- Cybersecurity training2 programs
- IT training5 programs
- Barber school3 programs
- Esthetician school2 programs
- Nail tech school1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes2 programs
- RN programs11 programs
- Project management certification1 program
Sources for the facts about cosmetology school in North Dakota
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List