Radiology tech programs in Illinois
27 radiology tech programs with results and funding that can make them free
27 schools offer these radiologic technology programs, and Illinois has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows how past students did; Illinois files no usable prices.
Radiologic technologists take X-rays and other imaging scans of patients. Most have an associate degree, some a bachelor's, and most states require a license or certification, which usually means finishing an accredited program and passing a certification exam.1 The usual route to certification by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) takes an associate degree or higher, an ARRT-approved program and a passed exam.2
In Illinois, 2 of the 27 programs take students without a high school diploma, 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 23 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 27 programs here are radiography (associate degree, 19 programs), x-ray program (level not stated, 6 programs), radiography (bachelor's degree, 1 program) and limited-scope X-ray course (1 program).
See the 27 programsHow much do radiology tech programs cost in Illinois?
Not reported
Illinois files no usable prices, so none can be shown.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Left out
- Only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Only 6 of 27 programs report it
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $50,200
- Length
- 80 to 96 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Illinois may also offer radiology tech programs. How these figures are made
All 27 radiology tech programs in Illinois approved for WIOA funding
Filters
27 programs
A.A.S. Radiologic Technology Degree
Harper College
Palatine
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$61,500Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, A.A.S. Radiologic Technology Degree at Harper CollegeMore details about A.A.S. Radiologic Technology Degree at Harper College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,373
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 70
- Earned a year, estimated
- $61,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology Degree
Rend Lake College
Ina
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$42,400Price if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiologic Technology Degree at Rend Lake CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology Degree at Rend Lake College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,611
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 58
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology AAS Degree
Kaskaskia College
Centralia
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$26,500Price if you pay yourselfLeft out4 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Radiologic Technology AAS Degree at Kaskaskia CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology AAS Degree at Kaskaskia College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,615
- Length
- 72 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 40
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Radiography Associate Degree
Kankakee Community College
Kankakee
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$37,300Price if you pay yourselfLeft out4 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Radiography Associate Degree at Kankakee Community CollegeMore details about Radiography Associate Degree at Kankakee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,316
- Length
- 101 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 33
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Radiologic Technology
Kishwaukee College
Malta
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$50,200Price if you pay yourselfLeft out19 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Radiologic Technology at Kishwaukee CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology at Kishwaukee College
- Finished
- Left out
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,541
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 19
Radiography
Heartland Community College
Normal
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$61,300Price if you pay yourselfLeft out5 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Radiography at Heartland Community CollegeMore details about Radiography at Heartland Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,329
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 20
- Earned a year, estimated
- $61,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Radiologic Technology
Danville Area Community College
Danville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$50,900Price if you pay yourselfLeft out7 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Radiologic Technology at Danville Area Community CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology at Danville Area Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,729
- Length
- 100 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 19
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 7
AAS in Diagnostic Medical Imaging Radiography
Midwestern Career College
Chicago
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, AAS in Diagnostic Medical Imaging Radiography at Midwestern Career CollegeMore details about AAS in Diagnostic Medical Imaging Radiography at Midwestern Career College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Associate Degree Radiography Degree (RDT 224)
Lincoln Land Community College
Springfield
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Associate Degree Radiography Degree (RDT 224) at Lincoln Land Community CollegeMore details about Associate Degree Radiography Degree (RDT 224) at Lincoln Land Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 72 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Associate In Applied Science/Radiologic Technology
Carl Sandburg College
Galesburg
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outSchool website, Associate In Applied Science/Radiologic Technology at Carl Sandburg CollegeMore details about Associate In Applied Science/Radiologic Technology at Carl Sandburg College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Bachelor of Science Degree in Radiological Sciences
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Bachelor of Science Degree in Radiological Sciences at Southern Illinois UniversityMore details about Bachelor of Science Degree in Radiological Sciences at Southern Illinois University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 128 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Diagnostic Medical Imaging Radiography Technician Degree
College Of DuPage
Glen Ellyn
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Diagnostic Medical Imaging Radiography Technician Degree at College Of DuPageMore details about Diagnostic Medical Imaging Radiography Technician Degree at College Of DuPage
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 144 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Medical Imaging AAS 21MI
College of Lake County
Grayslake
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Medical Imaging AAS 21MI at College of Lake CountyMore details about Medical Imaging AAS 21MI at College of Lake County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Medical Radiologic Technology
Malcolm X College
Chicago
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Medical Radiologic Technology at Malcolm X CollegeMore details about Medical Radiologic Technology at Malcolm X College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiographer
Illinois Central College
East Peoria
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiographer at Illinois Central CollegeMore details about Radiographer at Illinois Central College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiographic/X-Ray Technician
National College of Health
Chicago
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiographic/X-Ray Technician at National College of HealthMore details about Radiographic/X-Ray Technician at National College of Health
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiography
Richland Community College
Decatur
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiography at Richland Community CollegeMore details about Radiography at Richland Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiography
Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / OCC
Olney
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiography at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / OCCMore details about Radiography at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / OCC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiography AAS
Elgin Comm. College District #509
Elgin
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiography AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509More details about Radiography AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiography AAS
Blackhawk Technical College
Janesville, WI
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Illinois; Illinois approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiography AAS at Blackhawk Technical CollegeMore details about Radiography AAS at Blackhawk Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiography Program
Mercyhealth Hospital
Rockford
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outMore details about Radiography Program at Mercyhealth Hospital
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology
Sauk Valley Community College
Dixon
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiologic Technology at Sauk Valley Community CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology at Sauk Valley Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 93 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology
South Suburban College
South Holland
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiologic Technology at South Suburban CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology at South Suburban College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology
Parkland College
Champaign
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiologic Technology at Parkland CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology at Parkland College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 88 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology AAS
Moraine Valley Community College
Palos Hills
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiologic Technology AAS at Moraine Valley Community CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology AAS at Moraine Valley Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiologic Technology AAS Degree
Southwestern Illinois College
Belleville
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiologic Technology AAS Degree at Southwestern Illinois CollegeMore details about Radiologic Technology AAS Degree at Southwestern Illinois College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Radiology Technology AAS
Eiccd - Scc
Bettendorf, IA
Accredited school
Education and courses
Classes are outside Illinois; Illinois approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Radiology Technology AAS at Eiccd - SccMore details about Radiology Technology AAS at Eiccd - Scc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for radiology tech programs in Illinois
WIOA funding can pay for radiology tech programs in Illinois
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for radiology tech programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for radiology tech programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Radiology tech programs in Illinois
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 14 of 18
- most radiology tech programs of any state, after Texas
- 2nd
State comparisons use the same figures as the radiology tech programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Radiology tech programs in Chicago, Mount Vernon, Centralia and other Illinois cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 10 more programs are in 10 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Illinois
How radiology tech programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Illinois
- CDL training94 programs
- CNA classes86 programs
- Medical assistant training86 programs
- Phlebotomy training54 programs
- Welding classes136 programs
- HVAC training77 programs
- Medical billing and coding training56 programs
- LPN programs47 programs
- EMT classes52 programs
- Electrician training30 programs
- Dental assistant programs34 programs
- Auto mechanic classes103 programs
- Pharmacy technician training39 programs
- Plumbing school9 programs
- CNC machinist training64 programs
- Carpentry classes13 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training5 programs
- Diesel mechanic training22 programs
- Cybersecurity training68 programs
- IT training216 programs
- Cosmetology school6 programs
- Barber school1 program
- EKG technician programs16 programs
- Massage therapy school9 programs
- Paralegal programs31 programs
- Fire academy8 programs
- Police academy4 programs
- Surgical tech programs17 programs
- Culinary school28 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs15 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training36 programs
- Human resources training29 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training84 programs
- Early childhood education programs53 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school10 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training40 programs
- Hospitality management programs6 programs
- Addiction counselor training11 programs
- Community health worker training1 program
- Coding and software development courses66 programs
- Lineman school9 programs
- Sterile processing technician training4 programs
- Sonography school12 programs
- Data analytics courses36 programs
- Administrative assistant training78 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs14 programs
- Medical lab technician programs14 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses20 programs
- Digital marketing courses21 programs
- Web and graphic design courses74 programs
- Health information technology programs24 programs
- Vet tech programs4 programs
- Patient care technician training19 programs
- OTA programs6 programs
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs3 programs
- Customer service training1 program
- Flight school1 program
- MRI tech school7 programs
- Mental health technician training1 program
- Human services programs10 programs
- Manufacturing technician training40 programs
- Electronics technician training27 programs
- Business administration programs67 programs
- Criminal justice programs34 programs
- Teacher assistant certification2 programs
- Auto body repair classes16 programs
- Solar and wind technician training6 programs
- Sheet metal training1 program
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training13 programs
- Masonry training4 programs
- Insurance license courses2 programs
- Construction training programs24 programs
- Dental hygiene programs11 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes81 programs
- RN programs72 programs
- Project management certification48 programs
Where the Illinois radiologic technology program numbers come from
Which Illinois radiologic technology programs are on this list?
These are the radiologic technology programs Illinois approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Illinois offers.
How the prices and results of Illinois radiologic technology programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Illinois figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.
Sources for the facts about radiology tech programs in Illinois
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Radiologic and MRI Technologists
- American Registry of Radiologic Technologists: Primary eligibility pathway requirements
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns