Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

MRI tech school in Illinois

7 MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) programs with results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these MRI programs, and Illinois has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows how past students did; Illinois files no usable prices.

MRI technologists operate magnetic resonance imaging scanners to make the images doctors use to diagnose patients. They typically need an associate degree, some start out as radiologic technologists, and few states require a license for MRI work.1

In Illinois, 1 of the 7 programs asks for a high school diploma or equivalent and 6 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 7 programs here are MRI certificate or course (6 programs) and MRI (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 7 programs

How much does MRI tech school cost in Illinois?

Not reported

Illinois files no usable prices, so none can be shown.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 7 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 7 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 7 programs report it
Length
40 to 76 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Illinois may also offer MRI tech school. How these figures are made

Is there free MRI tech school in Illinois?

All 7 MRI programs in Illinois approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

7 programs

  • MRI (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Associates of Applied Science in MRI

    Midwestern Career College

    Naperville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Midwestern Career College, NapervilleMRI (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Associates of Applied Science in MRI at Midwestern Career College
    More details about Associates of Applied Science in MRI at Midwestern Career College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Associates of Applied Science in MRI at Midwestern Career College
  • MRI certificate or courseHybridPrerequisite courses

    MRI Certificate

    Rend Lake College

    Ina

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Rend Lake College, InaMRI certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, MRI Certificate at Rend Lake College
    More details about MRI Certificate at Rend Lake College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, MRI Certificate at Rend Lake College
  • MRI certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

    South Suburban College

    South Holland

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    South Suburban College, South HollandMRI certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) at South Suburban College
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) at South Suburban College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) at South Suburban College
  • MRI certificate or courseIn personEducation and courses

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Certificate

    Harper College

    Palatine

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Harper College, PalatineMRI certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Certificate at Harper College
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Certificate at Harper College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Certificate at Harper College
  • MRI certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist

    Stellar Career College

    Chicago

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Stellar Career College, ChicagoMRI certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist at Stellar Career College
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist at Stellar Career College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist at Stellar Career College
  • MRI certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist

    National College of Health

    Chicago

    High school diploma or equivalent

    National College of Health, ChicagoMRI certificate or courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist at National College of Health
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist at National College of Health
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    88 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) Technologist at National College of Health
  • MRI certificate or courseHybridEducation and courses

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cert 21MR

    College of Lake County

    Grayslake

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    College of Lake County, GrayslakeMRI certificate or course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cert 21MR at College of Lake County
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cert 21MR at College of Lake County
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cert 21MR at College of Lake County

How to pay for MRI tech school in Illinois

WIOA funding can pay for MRI tech school in Illinois

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for MRI tech school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for MRI tech school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

MRI tech school in Chicago, Mount Vernon and other Illinois cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in Illinois

How MRI tech school compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Illinois

Where the Illinois MRI program numbers come from

Which Illinois MRI programs are on this list?

These are the MRI programs Illinois approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Illinois offers.

How the prices and results of Illinois MRI programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Illinois figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.

Sources for the facts about MRI tech school in Illinois

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Radiologic and MRI Technologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns