Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical lab technician programs in Illinois

14 medical lab programs with results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these medical lab programs, and Illinois has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows how past students did; Illinois files no usable prices.

Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians run the medical lab tests used to diagnose, treat and prevent disease. Most need a bachelor's degree, though technicians sometimes qualify with an associate degree and some vocational and technical schools offer technician certificates; some states require a license, and employers may prefer certification.1

In Illinois, 1 of the 14 programs takes students without a high school diploma, 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent and 12 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 14 programs here are medical lab technician (associate degree, 8 programs), medical lab scientist (bachelor's degree, 4 programs) and medical lab assistant course (2 programs).

See the 14 programs

How much do medical lab technician programs cost in Illinois?

Not reported

Illinois files no usable prices, so none can be shown.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 14 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
66 to 104 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Illinois may also offer medical lab technician programs. How these figures are made

Are there free medical lab technician programs in Illinois?

All 14 medical lab programs in Illinois approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

14 programs

  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Medical Lab Tech AAS

    Southwestern Illinois College

    Belleville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Southwestern Illinois College, BellevilleMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$28,900
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Lab Tech AAS at Southwestern Illinois College
    More details about Medical Lab Tech AAS at Southwestern Illinois College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,214
    Length
    104 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    55
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Lab Tech AAS at Southwestern Illinois College
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Technology Associate Degree

    Kankakee Community College

    Kankakee

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Kankakee Community College, KankakeeMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,100
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology Associate Degree at Kankakee Community College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technology Associate Degree at Kankakee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,030
    Length
    104 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    12
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology Associate Degree at Kankakee Community College
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Technician

    Illinois Central College

    East Peoria

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Illinois Central College, East PeoriaMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$42,700
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician at Illinois Central College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technician at Illinois Central College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,663
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    11
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician at Illinois Central College
  • Medical lab assistant courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Laboratory Assistant BVS

    Elgin Comm. College District #509

    Elgin

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Elgin Comm. College District #509, ElginMedical lab assistant course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Clinical Laboratory Assistant BVS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    More details about Clinical Laboratory Assistant BVS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Clinical Laboratory Assistant BVS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Clinical Laboratory Technology AAS

    Elgin Comm. College District #509

    Elgin

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Elgin Comm. College District #509, ElginMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Clinical Laboratory Technology AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    More details about Clinical Laboratory Technology AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Clinical Laboratory Technology AAS at Elgin Comm. College District #509
  • Medical lab assistant courseIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Assistant Cert

    Kankakee Community College

    Kankakee

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Kankakee Community College, KankakeeMedical lab assistant course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Assistant Cert at Kankakee Community College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Assistant Cert at Kankakee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    42 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Assistant Cert at Kankakee Community College
  • Medical lab scientist (bachelor's degree)HybridPrerequisite courses

    Medical Laboratory Science

    University of Illinois Springfield

    Springfield

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    University of Illinois Springfield, SpringfieldMedical lab scientist (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Science at University of Illinois Springfield
    More details about Medical Laboratory Science at University of Illinois Springfield
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    128 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Science at University of Illinois Springfield
  • Medical lab scientist (bachelor's degree)In personEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.)

    University of St. Francis

    Joliet

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    University of St. Francis, JolietMedical lab scientist (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.) at University of St. Francis
    More details about Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.) at University of St. Francis
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    208 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.) at University of St. Francis
  • Medical lab scientist (bachelor's degree)In personEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.)

    Illinois State University

    Normal

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Illinois State University, NormalMedical lab scientist (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.) at Illinois State University
    More details about Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.) at Illinois State University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    144 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Science (B.S.) at Illinois State University
  • Medical lab scientist (bachelor's degree)In personEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Sciences

    Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences

    Rock Island

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Rock IslandMedical lab scientist (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    School website, Medical Laboratory Sciences at Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    More details about Medical Laboratory Sciences at Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    45 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    School website, Medical Laboratory Sciences at Trinity College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Technician

    Blackhawk Technical College

    Janesville, WI

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Blackhawk Technical College, Janesville, WIMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Classes are outside Illinois; Illinois approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician at Blackhawk Technical College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technician at Blackhawk Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    96 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician at Blackhawk Technical College
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Technician

    Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / FCC

    Fairfield

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / FCC, FairfieldMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / FCC
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technician at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / FCC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    72 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician at Illinois Eastern Community Colleges / FCC
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Laboratory Technician Associate in Applied Science

    Spoon River College

    Canton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Spoon River College, CantonMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    School website, Medical Laboratory Technician Associate in Applied Science at Spoon River College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technician Associate in Applied Science at Spoon River College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    School website, Medical Laboratory Technician Associate in Applied Science at Spoon River College
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Medical Laboratory Technology (MLT)--Degree

    John A. Logan Community College

    Carterville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    John A. Logan Community College, CartervilleMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology (MLT)--Degree at John A. Logan Community College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technology (MLT)--Degree at John A. Logan Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology (MLT)--Degree at John A. Logan Community College

How to pay for medical lab technician programs in Illinois

WIOA funding can pay for medical lab technician programs in Illinois

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical lab technician programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical lab technician programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Medical lab technician programs in Chicago, Kankakee, St. Louis and other Illinois cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Illinois

How medical lab technician programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Illinois

Where the Illinois medical lab program numbers come from

Which Illinois medical lab programs are on this list?

These are the medical lab programs Illinois approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Illinois offers.

How the prices and results of Illinois medical lab programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Illinois figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Illinois among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share who finished for Illinois: only a few programs report it, and those at a typical 11%. We leave out prices for Illinois: the state files a code in place of each price, so no price can be shown.

Sources for the facts about medical lab technician programs in Illinois

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns