Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Patient care technician training in Florida

23 patient care technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

23 schools offer these patient care technician programs, and Florida has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

The federal job guide has no separate profile for patient care technicians; the closest is nursing assistants, who give basic care and help patients with daily activities. Nursing assistants often complete a state-approved program and pass the state's competency exam, which puts them on the state registry that nursing home work requires.1

In Florida, 11 of the 23 programs take students without a high school diploma, 9 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 3 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 23 programs here are patient care technician course (17 programs) and patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) training (6 programs).

See the 23 programs

How much does patient care technician training cost in Florida?

$1,951 to $4,025 is what most patient care technician programs in Florida cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 23 programs with a price. All of them: $1,728 to $21,159

In the typical program

Finished the program
84%
Working 6 months later
71%
Earned a year, estimated
about $20,900
Length
18 to 30 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Florida may also offer patient care technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free patient care technician training in Florida?

All 23 patient care technician programs in Florida approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

23 programs

  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician-Cd4

    Ultimate Medical Academy-Is

    Clearwater

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ultimate Medical Academy-Is, ClearwaterPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$18,800
    Price if you pay yourself$15,000

    20 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Patient Care Technician-Cd4 at Ultimate Medical Academy-Is
    More details about Patient Care Technician-Cd4 at Ultimate Medical Academy-Is
    Finished
    61%
    Working at 6 months
    20%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,708
    Length
    1 week, 1 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    126
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    20
    Program website, Patient Care Technician-Cd4 at Ultimate Medical Academy-Is
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician

    Florida Vocational Institute-Is

    Miami

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Florida Vocational Institute-Is, MiamiPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$28,200
    Price if you pay yourself$8,870

    14 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Patient Care Technician at Florida Vocational Institute-Is
    Finished
    84%
    Working at 6 months
    58%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,040
    Length
    30 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $260
    Students counted
    101
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,870
    students trained with WIOA funding
    14
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician (PCT)

    Big Bend Technical Institute-Un

    Perry

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Big Bend Technical Institute-Un, PerryPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$21,900
    Price if you pay yourself$2,178

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Patient Care Technician (PCT) at Big Bend Technical Institute-Un
    More details about Patient Care Technician (PCT) at Big Bend Technical Institute-Un
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,475
    Length
    15 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,508
    Students counted
    82
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,178
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Patient Care Technician (PCT) at Big Bend Technical Institute-Un
  • Patient care technician courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician*

    Sheridan Technical College-Vs

    Hollywood

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Sheridan Technical College-Vs, HollywoodPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,895
    More details about Patient Care Technician* at Sheridan Technical College-Vs
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $636
    Students counted
    76
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,895
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician-C

    Lively Technical Center-Vs

    Tallahassee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lively Technical Center-Vs, TallahasseePatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,800
    Price if you pay yourself$1,962
    School website, Patient Care Technician-C at Lively Technical Center-Vs
    More details about Patient Care Technician-C at Lively Technical Center-Vs
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,949
    Length
    22 weeks, 27 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $691
    Students counted
    33
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,962
    School website, Patient Care Technician-C at Lively Technical Center-Vs
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician*

    Atlantic Technical College-Vs

    Margate

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Atlantic Technical College-Vs, MargatePatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$16,300
    Price if you pay yourself$2,119
    More details about Patient Care Technician* at Atlantic Technical College-Vs
    Finished
    84%
    Working at 6 months
    29%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,078
    Length
    24 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $713
    Students counted
    29
    Earned a year, estimated
    $16,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,119
  • Patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingIn personEducation and courses

    Patient Care Technician

    Immokalee Technical College (iTECH)

    Immokalee

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Immokalee Technical College (iTECH), ImmokaleePatient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) training · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedLeft out
    Price if you pay yourself$1,752
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Immokalee Technical College (iTECH)
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Immokalee Technical College (iTECH)
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    60%
    Earned in a quarter
    Left out
    Length
    26 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $679
    Students counted
    28
    Earned a year, estimated
    Left out
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,752
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Immokalee Technical College (iTECH)
  • Patient care technician courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    St Petersburg College-Un

    Largo

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    St Petersburg College-Un, LargoPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,995
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at St Petersburg College-Un
    More details about Patient Care Technician at St Petersburg College-Un
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,995
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at St Petersburg College-Un
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician*

    Hollywood Career Institute, LLC

    Hollywood

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Hollywood Career Institute, LLC, HollywoodPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$38,000
    Price if you pay yourself$12,075
    More details about Patient Care Technician* at Hollywood Career Institute, LLC
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,511
    Length
    26 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $425
    Students counted
    23
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,075
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician

    RiverOak Technical College

    Live Oak

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    RiverOak Technical College, Live OakPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$11,700
    Price if you pay yourself$3,889
    School website, Patient Care Technician at RiverOak Technical College
    More details about Patient Care Technician at RiverOak Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,932
    Length
    30 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,940
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    $11,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,889
    School website, Patient Care Technician at RiverOak Technical College
  • Patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician

    Lake Technical College-CSCF

    Eustis

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lake Technical College-CSCF, EustisPatient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) training · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$20,000
    Price if you pay yourself$1,728
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Lake Technical College-CSCF
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Lake Technical College-CSCF
    Finished
    45%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,989
    Length
    20 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $971
    Students counted
    18
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,728
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Lake Technical College-CSCF
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Treasure Coast Technical College

    Vero Beach

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Treasure Coast Technical College, Vero BeachPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,117
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Treasure Coast Technical College
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Treasure Coast Technical College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    43 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $762
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,117
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Treasure Coast Technical College
  • Patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingHybridEducation and courses

    Patient Care Technician

    Academy For Nursing And Health Occupations-Is

    West Palm Beach

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Academy For Nursing And Health Occupations-Is, West Palm BeachPatient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) training · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,969
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Academy For Nursing And Health Occupations-Is
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,969
  • Patient care technician courseIn personEducation and courses

    Patient Care Technician-C

    Ridge Technical College - Polk

    Winter Haven

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Ridge Technical College - Polk, Winter HavenPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,728
    School website, Patient Care Technician-C at Ridge Technical College - Polk
    More details about Patient Care Technician-C at Ridge Technical College - Polk
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,307
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,728
    School website, Patient Care Technician-C at Ridge Technical College - Polk
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician

    Florida Panhandle Technical College

    Chipley

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Florida Panhandle Technical College, ChipleyPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,733
    School website, Patient Care Technician at Florida Panhandle Technical College
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Florida Panhandle Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,300
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,733
    School website, Patient Care Technician at Florida Panhandle Technical College
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    North Florida College-Cs

    Madison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    North Florida College-Cs, MadisonPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,940
    School website, Patient Care Technician at North Florida College-Cs
    More details about Patient Care Technician at North Florida College-Cs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    21 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $710
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,940
    School website, Patient Care Technician at North Florida College-Cs
  • Patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingHybridNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician*

    William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs

    Davie

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs, DaviePatient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) training · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,074
    School website, Patient Care Technician* at William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs
    More details about Patient Care Technician* at William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    26 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $562
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,074
    School website, Patient Care Technician* at William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs
  • Patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Zeal Technical Institute, LLC

    North Fort Myers

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Zeal Technical Institute, LLC, North Fort MyersPatient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,800
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Zeal Technical Institute, LLC
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Zeal Technical Institute, LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 37 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,625
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,800
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Zeal Technical Institute, LLC
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    K & E Medical Training Center

    Fort Myers

    High school diploma or equivalent

    K & E Medical Training Center, Fort MyersPatient care technician courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,699
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at K & E Medical Training Center
    More details about Patient Care Technician at K & E Medical Training Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    29 weeks, 21 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $225
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,699
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at K & E Medical Training Center
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician

    AdventHealth University -CSCF

    Orlando

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    AdventHealth University -CSCF, OrlandoPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    More details about Patient Care Technician at AdventHealth University -CSCF
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Metropolitan Technical Career Institute-Is

    New Port Richey

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Metropolitan Technical Career Institute-Is, New Port RicheyPatient care technician courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,050
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Metropolitan Technical Career Institute-Is
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,050
  • Patient care technician courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician

    Cambridge Institute Of Allied Health And Technology-Is-CSCF

    Altamonte Springs

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Cambridge Institute Of Allied Health And Technology-Is-CSCF, Altamonte SpringsPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,000
    School website, Patient Care Technician at Cambridge Institute Of Allied Health And Technology-Is-CSCF
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Cambridge Institute Of Allied Health And Technology-Is-CSCF
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 2 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,000
    School website, Patient Care Technician at Cambridge Institute Of Allied Health And Technology-Is-CSCF
  • Patient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingHybridNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technician*

    Florida Career College - Lauderdale Lakes-Is

    Lauderdale Lakes

    No diploma needed

    Florida Career College - Lauderdale Lakes-Is, Lauderdale LakesPatient care technician with nursing assistant (CNA) trainingHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$21,159
    More details about Patient Care Technician* at Florida Career College - Lauderdale Lakes-Is
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    34 weeks, 21 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $341
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $21,159

How to pay for patient care technician training in Florida

WIOA funding can pay for patient care technician training in Florida

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for patient care technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for patient care technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Patient care technician training in Florida

programs with a price cost under $2,000
7 of 23
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
4th of 15
most patient care technician programs of any state, after Texas and Georgia
3rd

State comparisons use the same figures as the patient care technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Patient care technician training in Miami, Tampa, Orlando and other Florida cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 3 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Florida

How patient care technician training compares with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in Florida

Where the Florida patient care technician program numbers come from

Which Florida patient care technician programs are on this list?

These are the patient care technician programs Florida approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Florida offers.

How the prices and results of Florida patient care technician programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about patient care technician training in Florida

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List