Lineman school in Florida
9 lineman programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these lineman programs, and Florida has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electrical power-line installers and repairers put up and repair the cables and wires that carry electricity, and may erect poles and transmission towers. Most start with a high school diploma and learn in an apprenticeship or employer training program of up to three years; some community colleges offer one-year certificates and two-year degrees.1
In Florida, 2 of the 9 programs take students without a high school diploma and 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 9 programs here are lineworker certificate or course (6 programs), communications lineworker or fiber optic course (2 programs) and lineworker training with CDL (1 program).
See the 9 programsHow much does lineman school cost in Florida?
$2,934 to $7,000 is what most lineman programs in Florida cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 9 programs with a price. All of them: $2,504 to $19,800
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 95%
- Working 6 months later
- 31%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $37,300
- Length
- 6 to 26 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Florida may also offer lineman school. How these figures are made
All 9 lineman programs in Florida approved for WIOA funding
Filters
9 programs
Electrical Lineworker Program
Northwest Lineman Center
Edgewater
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$50,000Price if you pay yourself$19,80016 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Electrical Lineworker Program at Northwest Lineman Center
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 31%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,504
- Length
- 15 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,932
- Students counted
- 304
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,800
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 16
Fiber Optics Technician (Cfot, Cfos/T, & /S)
University of Central Florida-Cont Educ-CSCF
Based in Orlando, FL
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,7853 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Fiber Optics Technician (Cfot, Cfos/T, & /S) at University of Central Florida-Cont Educ-CSCFMore details about Fiber Optics Technician (Cfot, Cfos/T, & /S) at University of Central Florida-Cont Educ-CSCF
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 250
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,785
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Electrical Line Worker
St Petersburg College-Un
Largo
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,000Price if you pay yourself$7,50025 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Electrical Line Worker at St Petersburg College-UnMore details about Electrical Line Worker at St Petersburg College-Un
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 14%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,243
- Length
- 19 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 244
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 25
Electrical Powerline Technician W/ CDL Class A
Valencia College - Cont Educ-CSCF
Orlando
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$51,800Price if you pay yourself$7,00028 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Electrical Powerline Technician W/ CDL Class A at Valencia College - Cont Educ-CSCFMore details about Electrical Powerline Technician W/ CDL Class A at Valencia College - Cont Educ-CSCF
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 29%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,954
- Length
- 15 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 148
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 28
Lineworker Boot Camp
Lake Sumter State College - Cont Educ-CSCF
Leesburg
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,300Price if you pay yourself$4,95023 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Lineworker Boot Camp at Lake Sumter State College - Cont Educ-CSCFMore details about Lineworker Boot Camp at Lake Sumter State College - Cont Educ-CSCF
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,323
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 47
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,950
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 23
Electric Utility Line Worker (Basic)
Lake Sumter State College-Cs-CSCF
Leesburg
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,000Price if you pay yourself$2,934Program website, Electric Utility Line Worker (Basic) at Lake Sumter State College-Cs-CSCFMore details about Electric Utility Line Worker (Basic) at Lake Sumter State College-Cs-CSCF
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,741
- Length
- 30 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $230
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,934
Electric Utility Line Worker (Advanced)
Lake Sumter State College-Cs-CSCF
Leesburg
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,504Program website, Electric Utility Line Worker (Advanced) at Lake Sumter State College-Cs-CSCFMore details about Electric Utility Line Worker (Advanced) at Lake Sumter State College-Cs-CSCF
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $230
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,504
Electric Line Service Repair (Heartland)
South Florida State College-Cs
Avon Park
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,470Program website, Electric Line Service Repair (Heartland) at South Florida State College-CsMore details about Electric Line Service Repair (Heartland) at South Florida State College-Cs
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 50 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,252
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,470
Fiber Optics Technician-Advance (Cfot, Cfos/T, /S, /O, & /H)
University of Central Florida-Cont Educ-CSCF
Based in Orlando, FL
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,775Program website, Fiber Optics Technician-Advance (Cfot, Cfos/T, /S, /O, & /H) at University of Central Florida-Cont Educ-CSCFMore details about Fiber Optics Technician-Advance (Cfot, Cfos/T, /S, /O, & /H) at University of Central Florida-Cont Educ-CSCF
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,775
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for lineman school in Florida
WIOA funding can pay for lineman school in Florida
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for lineman school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for lineman school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Lineman school in Florida
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 3 of 9
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 5th of 15
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 0 of 10
- lineman programs here, against the typical state's 4
- 9 vs 4
State comparisons use the same figures as the lineman school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Lineman school in Orlando, Deltona, Tampa and other Florida cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 programs are online.
Other training in Florida
How lineman school compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Florida
- CDL training75 programs
- CNA classes34 programs
- Medical assistant training79 programs
- Phlebotomy training46 programs
- Welding classes58 programs
- HVAC training61 programs
- Medical billing and coding training41 programs
- LPN programs79 programs
- EMT classes48 programs
- Electrician training33 programs
- Dental assistant programs47 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training22 programs
- Plumbing school12 programs
- CNC machinist training18 programs
- Carpentry classes12 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Diesel mechanic training19 programs
- Cybersecurity training114 programs
- IT training217 programs
- Cosmetology school1 program
- Barber school1 program
- EKG technician programs8 programs
- Massage therapy school4 programs
- Paralegal programs19 programs
- Fire academy28 programs
- Police academy42 programs
- Surgical tech programs24 programs
- Radiology tech programs25 programs
- Culinary school41 programs
- Home health aide training10 programs
- PTA programs11 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training31 programs
- Human resources training15 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training23 programs
- Early childhood education programs11 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school23 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training10 programs
- Hospitality management programs18 programs
- Addiction counselor training2 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses32 programs
- Sterile processing technician training7 programs
- Sonography school15 programs
- Data analytics courses16 programs
- Administrative assistant training31 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs12 programs
- Medical lab technician programs7 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses15 programs
- Digital marketing courses13 programs
- Web and graphic design courses50 programs
- Health information technology programs9 programs
- Vet tech programs9 programs
- Real estate school2 programs
- Security guard training3 programs
- Patient care technician training23 programs
- OTA programs3 programs
- Forklift certification6 programs
- Healthcare administration programs13 programs
- Customer service training1 program
- Flight school3 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs3 programs
- RBT certification training3 programs
- Mental health technician training3 programs
- Human services programs7 programs
- Manufacturing technician training8 programs
- Electronics technician training18 programs
- Business administration programs53 programs
- Criminal justice programs12 programs
- Auto body repair classes8 programs
- Merchant mariner training1 program
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training3 programs
- Masonry training2 programs
- Insurance license courses6 programs
- Construction training programs19 programs
- Dental hygiene programs14 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes46 programs
- RN programs89 programs
- Project management certification53 programs
Where the Florida lineman program numbers come from
Which Florida lineman programs are on this list?
These are the lineman programs Florida approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Florida offers.
How the prices and results of Florida lineman programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about lineman school in Florida
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Line Installers and Repairers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List