Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Fire academy in Florida

28 firefighter programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

23 schools offer these firefighter programs, and Florida has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Firefighters put out fires and answer emergencies that put people, property or the environment at risk. Most need a high school diploma, must pass written and physical tests and an interview, and then train for a few months at a fire academy run by a fire department or the state. Firefighters may also need EMT or paramedic certification.1

In Florida, 3 of the 28 programs take students without a high school diploma, 22 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 3 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 28 programs here are fire academy (Firefighter I and II, 19 programs), firefighter and EMT combined (7 programs) and fire science (associate degree, 2 programs).

See the 28 programs

How much does fire academy cost in Florida?

$2,326 to $4,283 is what most firefighter programs in Florida cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 28 programs with a price. All of them: $1,154 to $8,350

In the typical program

Finished the program
86%
Working 6 months later
89%
Earned a year, estimated
about $40,500
Length
14 to 30 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Florida may also offer fire academy training. How these figures are made

Is there free fire academy training in Florida?

All 28 firefighter programs in Florida approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

28 programs

  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personEducation and courses

    Fire Fighter I and II

    William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs

    Davie

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs, DavieFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$37,200
    Price if you pay yourself$3,049

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Fire Fighter I and II at William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs
    More details about Fire Fighter I and II at William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,296
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,608
    Students counted
    476
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,049
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Fire Fighter I and II at William T. Mcfatter Technical Center-Vs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Basic Recruit Fire Academy; Career Preparatory; Law, Public Safety, & Security

    Indian River State College-Cs

    Fort Pierce

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Indian River State College-Cs, Fort PierceFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,300
    Price if you pay yourself$2,341
    Program website, Basic Recruit Fire Academy; Career Preparatory; Law, Public Safety, & Security at Indian River State College-Cs
    More details about Basic Recruit Fire Academy; Career Preparatory; Law, Public Safety, & Security at Indian River State College-Cs
    Finished
    99%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,083
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,357
    Students counted
    332
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,341
    Program website, Basic Recruit Fire Academy; Career Preparatory; Law, Public Safety, & Security at Indian River State College-Cs
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Academy/Emt Combined

    Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF

    Sanford

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF, SanfordFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$51,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,421
    School website, Fire Academy/Emt Combined at Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF
    More details about Fire Academy/Emt Combined at Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,973
    Length
    52 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    262
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,421
    School website, Fire Academy/Emt Combined at Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Academy

    Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF

    Sanford

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF, SanfordFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$54,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,477
    School website, Fire Academy at Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF
    More details about Fire Academy at Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,499
    Length
    52 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,854
    Students counted
    180
    Earned a year, estimated
    $54,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,477
    School website, Fire Academy at Seminole State College Of Florida-CSCF
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter I/II

    Florida SouthWestern State College

    Fort Myers

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Florida SouthWestern State College, Fort MyersFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,800
    Price if you pay yourself$3,297

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Fire Fighter I/II at Florida SouthWestern State College
    More details about Fire Fighter I/II at Florida SouthWestern State College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,695
    Length
    30 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,160
    Students counted
    154
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,297
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Fire Fighter I/II at Florida SouthWestern State College
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter

    Fort Myers Technical College (SWFL Public Service Academy)

    Fort Myers

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fort Myers Technical College (SWFL Public Service Academy), Fort MyersFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,400
    Price if you pay yourself$2,802
    Program website, Fire Fighter at Fort Myers Technical College (SWFL Public Service Academy)
    More details about Fire Fighter at Fort Myers Technical College (SWFL Public Service Academy)
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,594
    Length
    17 weeks, 29 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,925
    Students counted
    145
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,802
    Program website, Fire Fighter at Fort Myers Technical College (SWFL Public Service Academy)
  • Fire science (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Science Technology-AS

    Florida SouthWestern State College

    Fort Myers

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Florida SouthWestern State College, Fort MyersFire science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$42,100
    Price if you pay yourself$6,802
    Program website, Fire Science Technology-AS at Florida SouthWestern State College
    More details about Fire Science Technology-AS at Florida SouthWestern State College
    Finished
    41%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,513
    Length
    68 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,850
    Students counted
    127
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,802
    Program website, Fire Science Technology-AS at Florida SouthWestern State College
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter

    Suncoast Technical College-Vs

    Sarasota

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Suncoast Technical College-Vs, SarasotaFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,700
    Price if you pay yourself$1,437

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Firefighter at Suncoast Technical College-Vs
    More details about Firefighter at Suncoast Technical College-Vs
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    39%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,168
    Length
    16 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,488
    Students counted
    120
    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,437
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Firefighter at Suncoast Technical College-Vs
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedIn personNo diploma needed

    Firefighter/Emt - Combined

    Lake Technical College-CSCF

    Eustis

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Lake Technical College-CSCF, EustisFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,281
    School website, Firefighter/Emt - Combined at Lake Technical College-CSCF
    More details about Firefighter/Emt - Combined at Lake Technical College-CSCF
    Finished
    84%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    29 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,569
    Students counted
    105
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,281
    School website, Firefighter/Emt - Combined at Lake Technical College-CSCF
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined

    Manatee Technical College-Vs

    Bradenton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Manatee Technical College-Vs, BradentonFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,000
    Price if you pay yourself$4,492
    Program website, Fire Fighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined at Manatee Technical College-Vs
    More details about Fire Fighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined at Manatee Technical College-Vs
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    89%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,493
    Length
    20 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    102
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,492
    Program website, Fire Fighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined at Manatee Technical College-Vs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter I/II @ Hillsborough County Fire Rescue

    Aparicio-Levy Technical Center-Vs

    Tampa

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Aparicio-Levy Technical Center-Vs, TampaFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,175
    More details about Firefighter I/II @ Hillsborough County Fire Rescue at Aparicio-Levy Technical Center-Vs
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 2 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    58
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,175
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined (CCP)

    Northwest Florida State College-Un

    Niceville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northwest Florida State College-Un, NicevilleFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$52,800
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    School website, Firefighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined (CCP) at Northwest Florida State College-Un
    More details about Firefighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined (CCP) at Northwest Florida State College-Un
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,188
    Length
    52 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    57
    Earned a year, estimated
    $52,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    School website, Firefighter/Emergency Medical Technician Combined (CCP) at Northwest Florida State College-Un
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter + Capstone / Emergency Medical Technician-ATD - combined

    Charlotte Technical College

    Port Charlotte

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Charlotte Technical College, Port CharlotteFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,200
    Price if you pay yourself$4,087
    Program website, Fire Fighter + Capstone / Emergency Medical Technician-ATD - combined at Charlotte Technical College
    More details about Fire Fighter + Capstone / Emergency Medical Technician-ATD - combined at Charlotte Technical College
    Finished
    72%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,059
    Length
    29 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,324
    Students counted
    55
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,087
    Program website, Fire Fighter + Capstone / Emergency Medical Technician-ATD - combined at Charlotte Technical College
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personNo diploma needed

    Fire Fighting

    Ridge Technical College - Polk

    Winter Haven

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ridge Technical College - Polk, Winter HavenFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$42,800
    Price if you pay yourself$1,437

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Fire Fighting at Ridge Technical College - Polk
    More details about Fire Fighting at Ridge Technical College - Polk
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,688
    Length
    18 weeks, 27 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,927
    Students counted
    53
    Earned a year, estimated
    $42,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,437
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Fire Fighting at Ridge Technical College - Polk
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personNo diploma needed

    Firefighter

    South Florida State College-Cs

    Avon Park

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    South Florida State College-Cs, Avon ParkFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$46,600
    Price if you pay yourself$1,177
    Program website, Firefighter at South Florida State College-Cs
    More details about Firefighter at South Florida State College-Cs
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,642
    Length
    16 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,661
    Students counted
    28
    Earned a year, estimated
    $46,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,177
    Program website, Firefighter at South Florida State College-Cs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter-C

    Tallahassee Community College-Cs

    Tallahassee

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tallahassee Community College-Cs, TallahasseeFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,200
    Price if you pay yourself$2,555

    23 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Fire Fighter-C at Tallahassee Community College-Cs
    More details about Fire Fighter-C at Tallahassee Community College-Cs
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,544
    Length
    22 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,039
    Students counted
    25
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,555
    students trained with WIOA funding
    23
    Program website, Fire Fighter-C at Tallahassee Community College-Cs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter I/II

    Northwest Florida State College-Un

    Niceville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northwest Florida State College-Un, NicevilleFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,400
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    School website, Firefighter I/II at Northwest Florida State College-Un
    More details about Firefighter I/II at Northwest Florida State College-Un
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,091
    Length
    14 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    School website, Firefighter I/II at Northwest Florida State College-Un
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter-C

    Chipola College-Cs

    Marianna

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chipola College-Cs, MariannaFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$48,200
    Price if you pay yourself$3,104
    School website, Fire Fighter-C at Chipola College-Cs
    More details about Fire Fighter-C at Chipola College-Cs
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,053
    Length
    26 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    $48,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,104
    School website, Fire Fighter-C at Chipola College-Cs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Minimum Standards Fire 1 & Fire 2

    First Response Training Group, Llc.-Is-CSCF

    Orlando

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    First Response Training Group, Llc.-Is-CSCF, OrlandoFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Minimum Standards Fire 1 & Fire 2 at First Response Training Group, Llc.-Is-CSCF
    More details about Minimum Standards Fire 1 & Fire 2 at First Response Training Group, Llc.-Is-CSCF
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $995
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
    Program website, Minimum Standards Fire 1 & Fire 2 at First Response Training Group, Llc.-Is-CSCF
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter/Emt

    Valencia College-CSCF

    Orlando

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Valencia College-CSCF, OrlandoFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,237
    School website, Fire Fighter/Emt at Valencia College-CSCF
    More details about Fire Fighter/Emt at Valencia College-CSCF
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    38 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,793
    Students counted
    18
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,237
    School website, Fire Fighter/Emt at Valencia College-CSCF
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter II

    Eastern Florida State College

    Melbourne

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastern Florida State College, MelbourneFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,154
    Program website, Fire Fighter II at Eastern Florida State College
    More details about Fire Fighter II at Eastern Florida State College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,154
    Program website, Fire Fighter II at Eastern Florida State College
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter I, O.C.

    Florida Gateway College-Cs

    Lake City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Florida Gateway College-Cs, Lake CityFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,221
    Program website, Firefighter I, O.C. at Florida Gateway College-Cs
    More details about Firefighter I, O.C. at Florida Gateway College-Cs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 37 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,224
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,221
    Program website, Firefighter I, O.C. at Florida Gateway College-Cs
  • Firefighter and EMT combinedHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    EMT / Firefighter Combination

    Palm Beach State College-Cs

    Lake Worth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Palm Beach State College-Cs, Lake WorthFirefighter and EMT combined · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,940
    School website, EMT / Firefighter Combination at Palm Beach State College-Cs
    More details about EMT / Firefighter Combination at Palm Beach State College-Cs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    18 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,560
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,940
    School website, EMT / Firefighter Combination at Palm Beach State College-Cs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter II, O.C.

    Florida Gateway College-Cs

    Lake City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Florida Gateway College-Cs, Lake CityFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,439
    Program website, Firefighter II, O.C. at Florida Gateway College-Cs
    More details about Firefighter II, O.C. at Florida Gateway College-Cs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 37 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,224
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,439
    Program website, Firefighter II, O.C. at Florida Gateway College-Cs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Firefighter

    First Coast Technical College

    St Augustine

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    First Coast Technical College, St AugustineFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,662
    More details about Firefighter at First Coast Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    13 weeks, 38 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $915
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,662
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Fire Fighter

    Manatee Technical College-Vs

    Bradenton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Manatee Technical College-Vs, BradentonFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,027
    Program website, Fire Fighter at Manatee Technical College-Vs
    More details about Fire Fighter at Manatee Technical College-Vs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 39 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $174
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,027
    Program website, Fire Fighter at Manatee Technical College-Vs
  • Fire academy (Firefighter I and II)HybridEducation and courses

    Firefighter

    Barry University-Un

    Miami

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Barry University-Un, MiamiFire academy (Firefighter I and II) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,600
    More details about Firefighter at Barry University-Un
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    11 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,056
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,600
  • Fire science (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Fire Science Technology-A

    Polk State College-Cs

    Winter Haven

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Polk State College-Cs, Winter HavenFire science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,350
    Program website, Fire Science Technology-A at Polk State College-Cs
    More details about Fire Science Technology-A at Polk State College-Cs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    92 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,930
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,350
    Program website, Fire Science Technology-A at Polk State College-Cs

How to pay for fire academy training in Florida

WIOA funding can pay for fire academy training in Florida

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for fire academy training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for fire academy training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Fire academy in Florida

programs with a price cost under $2,000
6 of 28
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
5th of 15
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
5 of 9
firefighter programs here, against the typical state's 4
28 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the fire academy training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Fire academy in Orlando, Miami, Cape Coral and other Florida cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 9 more programs are in 8 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Florida

How fire academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Florida

Where the Florida firefighter program numbers come from

Which Florida firefighter programs are on this list?

These are the firefighter programs Florida approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Florida offers.

How the prices and results of Florida firefighter programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about fire academy training in Florida

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Firefighters
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List