Medical billing and coding training in Iowa
17 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
13 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and Iowa has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1
In Iowa, 6 of the 17 programs take students without a high school diploma and 11 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 17 programs here are medical coding (8 programs), billing and coding (8 programs) and medical office with billing (1 program).
See the 17 programsHow much does medical billing and coding training cost in Iowa?
$3,500 to $8,686 is what most medical billing and coding programs in Iowa cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 17 programs with a price. All of them: $1,100 to $15,470
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 66%
- Working 6 months later
- 81%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $29,900
- Length
- 23 to 48 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Iowa may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made
All 17 medical billing and coding programs in Iowa approved for WIOA funding
Filters
17 programs
HI-5100: Professional Coder
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500Program website, HI-5100: Professional Coder at MedCertsMore details about HI-5100: Professional Coder at MedCerts
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 842
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,500
HI-5000: Medical Coding and Billing Professional
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, HI-5000: Medical Coding and Billing Professional at MedCertsMore details about HI-5000: Medical Coding and Billing Professional at MedCerts
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 28 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 699
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
Professional Medical Coding Curriculum
Coding Clarified LLC
Based in Dalton Gardens, ID
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,900Price if you pay yourself$3,200Program website, Professional Medical Coding Curriculum at Coding Clarified LLCMore details about Professional Medical Coding Curriculum at Coding Clarified LLC
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- 61%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,464
- Length
- 16 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,799
- Students counted
- 567
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,200
Medical Billing and Coding Diploma
Des Moines Area Community College
Ankeny
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$34,500Price if you pay yourself$8,695Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Diploma at Des Moines Area Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Diploma at Des Moines Area Community College
- Finished
- 30%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,620
- Length
- 48 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,975
- Students counted
- 349
- Earned a year, estimated
- $34,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,695
HI-4000: Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, HI-4000: Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist at MedCertsMore details about HI-4000: Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist at MedCerts
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 19 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 224
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
Medical Insurance Coding
Indian Hills Community College
Based in Ottumwa, IA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,100Price if you pay yourself$13,278Program website, Medical Insurance Coding at Indian Hills Community CollegeMore details about Medical Insurance Coding at Indian Hills Community College
- Finished
- 51%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,285
- Length
- 48 weeks, 11 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 182
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $13,278
Certified Professional Medical Coder
Hawkeye Community College
Based in Waterloo, IA
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$38,500Price if you pay yourself$3,999Program website, Certified Professional Medical Coder at Hawkeye Community CollegeMore details about Certified Professional Medical Coder at Hawkeye Community College
- Finished
- 77%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,616
- Length
- 23 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 105
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,999
Medical Coding Specialist - Diploma
Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,700Price if you pay yourself$8,686Program website, Medical Coding Specialist - Diploma at Western Iowa Tech Community CollegeMore details about Medical Coding Specialist - Diploma at Western Iowa Tech Community College
- Finished
- 43%
- Working at 6 months
- 85%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,429
- Length
- 48 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $891
- Students counted
- 74
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,686
Medical Billing and Coding
Orion Technical College
Based in Davenport, IA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,800Price if you pay yourself$15,470Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Orion Technical CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Orion Technical College
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,948
- Length
- 40 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- 59
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $15,470
Medical Coding and Billing
Southeastern Community College
West Burlington
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$29,200Price if you pay yourself$8,526Program website, Medical Coding and Billing at Southeastern Community CollegeMore details about Medical Coding and Billing at Southeastern Community College
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 93%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,307
- Length
- 40 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,920
- Students counted
- 52
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,526
Medical Coding Specialist
Midwest Technical Institute
Moline, IL
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Iowa; Iowa approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$10,900Price if you pay yourself$15,291Program website, Medical Coding Specialist at Midwest Technical InstituteMore details about Medical Coding Specialist at Midwest Technical Institute
- Finished
- 52%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,732
- Length
- 35 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,409
- Students counted
- 49
- Earned a year, estimated
- $10,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $15,291
The Medical Coding & Billing for Outpatient Services Program
Iowa Western Community College
Based in Council Bluffs, IA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$47,500Price if you pay yourself$4,199Program website, The Medical Coding & Billing for Outpatient Services Program at Iowa Western Community CollegeMore details about The Medical Coding & Billing for Outpatient Services Program at Iowa Western Community College
- Finished
- 16%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,887
- Length
- 48 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 42
- Earned a year, estimated
- $47,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,199
Professional Medical Coder
Kirkwood Community College
Based in Cedar Rapids, IA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,3995 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Professional Medical Coder at Kirkwood Community CollegeMore details about Professional Medical Coder at Kirkwood Community College
- Finished
- 61%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 20
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,399
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)
Des Moines Area Community College
Based in Ankeny, IA
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Des Moines Area Community CollegeMore details about CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Des Moines Area Community College
- Finished
- 63%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,995
Medical Billing and Coding
Change Course
Based in Des Moines, IA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,100Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Change CourseMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Change Course
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $350
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,100
CPC - Medical Coding Training
Superior Coding Academy
Based in Scottsdale, AZ
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,000Program website, CPC - Medical Coding Training at Superior Coding AcademyMore details about CPC - Medical Coding Training at Superior Coding Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,200
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,000
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)
Southeastern Community College
Based in West Burlington, IA
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,900School website, Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Southeastern Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Southeastern Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,900
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical billing and coding training in Iowa
WIOA funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in Iowa
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical billing and coding training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Medical billing and coding training in Iowa
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 3 of 17
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 30th of 45
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 6 of 24
- medical billing and coding programs here, against the typical state's 16
- 17 vs 16
State comparisons use the same figures as the medical billing and coding training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Medical billing and coding training in Des Moines, Sioux City, Burlington and other Iowa cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 13 programs are online.
Other training in Iowa
How medical billing and coding training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Iowa
- CDL training33 programs
- CNA classes22 programs
- Medical assistant training15 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes50 programs
- HVAC training13 programs
- LPN programs14 programs
- EMT classes22 programs
- Electrician training5 programs
- Dental assistant programs11 programs
- Auto mechanic classes19 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school3 programs
- CNC machinist training10 programs
- Carpentry classes12 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training8 programs
- Cybersecurity training12 programs
- IT training40 programs
- Cosmetology school9 programs
- Barber school3 programs
- Esthetician school7 programs
- Nail tech school6 programs
- EKG technician programs1 program
- Massage therapy school13 programs
- Paralegal programs10 programs
- Fire academy4 programs
- Surgical tech programs7 programs
- Radiology tech programs9 programs
- Culinary school8 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training10 programs
- Human resources training6 programs
- Medication aide training9 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training23 programs
- Early childhood education programs20 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school3 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training5 programs
- Hospitality management programs10 programs
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses20 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sterile processing technician training3 programs
- Sonography school3 programs
- Data analytics courses4 programs
- Administrative assistant training32 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs5 programs
- Medical lab technician programs10 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses10 programs
- Digital marketing courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses14 programs
- Health information technology programs7 programs
- Vet tech programs6 programs
- Patient care technician training1 program
- OTA programs2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs4 programs
- Customer service training4 programs
- Flight school1 program
- MRI tech school1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Mental health technician training3 programs
- Human services programs12 programs
- Manufacturing technician training2 programs
- Electronics technician training10 programs
- Business administration programs26 programs
- Criminal justice programs7 programs
- Teacher assistant certification8 programs
- Auto body repair classes12 programs
- Solar and wind technician training5 programs
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs10 programs
- Dental hygiene programs5 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes32 programs
- RN programs22 programs
- Project management certification10 programs
Where the Iowa medical billing and coding program numbers come from
Which Iowa medical billing and coding programs are on this list?
These are the medical billing and coding programs Iowa approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Iowa offers.
How the prices and results of Iowa medical billing and coding programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in Iowa
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List