Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

IT training in Montana

7 IT training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these IT programs, and Montana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 4 of these 7 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Computer support specialists help people solve computer problems and keep networks running. Network support jobs usually call for an associate degree and help desk jobs for some college classes, though a high school diploma plus IT certifications can also be enough.1

In Montana, all 7 programs take students without a high school diploma.

By kind, the 7 programs here are networking and system administration (2 programs), IT support and help desk (2 programs), cloud computing (AWS and Azure, 1 program), IT (associate degree, 1 program), and 1 more of one other kind.

See the 7 programs

How much does IT training cost in Montana?

$4,000 to $10,160 is what most IT training programs in Montana cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $2,200 to $23,278

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 7 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 7 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 7 programs report it
Length
30 to 60 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Montana may also offer IT training. How these figures are made

Is there free IT training in Montana?

All 7 IT training programs in Montana approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

7 programs

  • Networking and system administrationOnlineNo diploma needed

    IT-7300 Linux Administrator

    Medcerts LLC

    Based in Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    Medcerts LLC, based in Livonia, MINetworking and system administrationOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,200
    Program website, IT-7300 Linux Administrator at Medcerts LLC
    More details about IT-7300 Linux Administrator at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,200
    Program website, IT-7300 Linux Administrator at Medcerts LLC
  • IT support and help deskOnlineNo diploma needed

    Healthcare IT Technician

    Medcerts LLC

    Based in Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    Medcerts LLC, based in Livonia, MIIT support and help deskOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, Healthcare IT Technician at Medcerts LLC
    More details about Healthcare IT Technician at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, Healthcare IT Technician at Medcerts LLC
  • Networking and system administrationOnlineNo diploma needed

    IT Security & Network Technician

    Medcerts LLC

    Based in Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    Medcerts LLC, based in Livonia, MINetworking and system administrationOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, IT Security & Network Technician at Medcerts LLC
    More details about IT Security & Network Technician at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, IT Security & Network Technician at Medcerts LLC
  • Cloud computing (AWS and Azure)OnlineNo diploma needed

    IT-7150 Cloud Specialist

    Medcerts LLC

    Based in Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    Medcerts LLC, based in Livonia, MICloud computing (AWS and Azure)Online · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, IT-7150 Cloud Specialist at Medcerts LLC
    More details about IT-7150 Cloud Specialist at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, IT-7150 Cloud Specialist at Medcerts LLC
  • IT (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Network Technology, A.A.S.

    Montana Tech - Butte (Basin Creek)

    Butte

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Montana Tech - Butte (Basin Creek), ButteIT (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,148
    Program website, Network Technology, A.A.S. at Montana Tech - Butte (Basin Creek)
    More details about Network Technology, A.A.S. at Montana Tech - Butte (Basin Creek)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,148
    Program website, Network Technology, A.A.S. at Montana Tech - Butte (Basin Creek)
  • IT support and help deskIn personNo diploma needed

    CIT - Microcomputer Support

    Msu - Great Falls College

    Great Falls

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Msu - Great Falls College, Great FallsIT support and help desk · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,171
    Program website, CIT - Microcomputer Support at Msu - Great Falls College
    More details about CIT - Microcomputer Support at Msu - Great Falls College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,171
    Program website, CIT - Microcomputer Support at Msu - Great Falls College
  • IT certificate or diploma (general)HybridNo diploma needed

    Information Technology

    Missoula College Of Technology

    Missoula

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Missoula College Of Technology, MissoulaIT certificate or diploma (general) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$23,278
    Program website, Information Technology at Missoula College Of Technology
    More details about Information Technology at Missoula College Of Technology
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $23,278
    Program website, Information Technology at Missoula College Of Technology

How to pay for IT training in Montana

WIOA funding can pay for IT training in Montana

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for IT training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for IT training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: IT training in Montana

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
19th of 46
IT training programs here, against the typical state's 39
7 vs 39

State comparisons use the same figures as the IT training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

IT training in Butte, Great Falls, Missoula and other Montana cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 4 programs are online.

Other training in Montana

How IT training compares with the rest of computers and IT: IT certification programs in Montana

Where the Montana IT program numbers come from

Which Montana IT programs are on this list?

These are the IT programs Montana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Montana offers.

How the prices and results of Montana IT programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about IT training in Montana

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Support Specialists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List