Retraining Report
Find training

Medical assistant training in Alaska

5 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these medical assistant programs, and Alaska has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Alaska, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 5 programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in Alaska?

$10,800 to $18,000

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 5 programs with a price: $10,800 to $21,120

Finished the program
65%
Working 6 months later
73%
Earned a year, estimated
about $34,800
Length
30 to 40 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Alaska may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in Alaska?

Medical assistant training in Anchorage, Reno, Fairbanks and other Alaska cities

Choosing an area filters the list below.

All 5 medical assistant programs in Alaska approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant Specialist

    Alaska Career College, Anchorage

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Alaska Career College, Anchorage · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,800
    Price if you pay yourself$16,195
    Program website, Medical Assistant Specialist at Alaska Career College
    More details about Medical Assistant Specialist at Alaska Career College
    Finished
    72%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,708
    Length
    21 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $375
    Students counted
    479
    a year, estimated
    $34,800
    price
    $16,195
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant (Certificate)

    Charter College, Reno, NV

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Charter College, Reno, NV · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Alaska; Alaska approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$30,500
    Price if you pay yourself$21,120
    Program website, Medical Assistant (Certificate) at Charter College
    More details about Medical Assistant (Certificate) at Charter College
    Finished
    43%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,616
    Length
    40 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    434
    a year, estimated
    $30,500
    price
    $21,120
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting (AAS)

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), Anchorage

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), Anchorage · Medical assistant (associate degree) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,500
    Price if you pay yourself$18,000
    Program website, Medical Assisting (AAS) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    More details about Medical Assisting (AAS) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,136
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,500
    Students counted
    43
    a year, estimated
    $36,500
    price
    $18,000
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant (CT2)

    University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF, Fairbanks

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF, Fairbanks · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,800
    Program website, Medical Assistant (CT2) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
    More details about Medical Assistant (CT2) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,495
    Length
    30 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,700
    Students counted
    39
    a year, estimated
    $34,000
    price
    $10,800
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting (CT1)

    University of Alaska Southeast (UAS), Juneau

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Alaska Southeast (UAS), Juneau · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$10,800
    Program website, Medical Assisting (CT1) at University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)
    More details about Medical Assisting (CT1) at University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)
    Finished
    65%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,203
    Length
    30 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,700
    Students counted
    37
    a year, estimated
    $36,800
    price
    $10,800

How to pay for medical assistant training in Alaska

Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in Alaska

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Alaska medical assistant program numbers come from

Which Alaska medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs Alaska approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alaska offers.

How Alaska medical assistant program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Alaska

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs