Retraining Report
Find training

HVAC training in Atlanta

11 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

8 schools offer these HVAC programs with classes in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1 In Atlanta, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 11 programs

All 47 HVAC training programs in Georgia, including online programs

How much does HVAC training cost in Atlanta?

$5,286 to $8,150

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 11 programs with a price: $1,579 to $20,800

Finished the program
28%
Working 6 months later
72%
Earned a year, estimated
about $32,100
Length
12 to 51 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Is there free HVAC training in Atlanta?

All 11 HVAC training programs in Atlanta approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Hvac/R Technology - Chamblee

    Interactive College Of Technology, Chamblee

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Interactive College Of Technology, Chamblee · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,600
    Price if you pay yourself$20,800
    More details about Hvac/R Technology - Chamblee at Interactive College Of Technology
    Finished
    45%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,906
    Length
    60 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,429
    Students counted
    672
    a year, estimated
    $43,600
    price
    $20,800
  • HVAC technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Air Conditioning Technology--Ac12

    Chattahoochee Technical College, Marietta

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chattahoochee Technical College, Marietta · HVAC technician · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,200
    Price if you pay yourself$7,678
    Program website, Air Conditioning Technology--Ac12 at Chattahoochee Technical College
    More details about Air Conditioning Technology--Ac12 at Chattahoochee Technical College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,038
    Length
    68 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,280
    Students counted
    349
    a year, estimated
    $32,200
    price
    $7,678
  • HVAC technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Heating And Air Conditioning Installation Technician --Haa1--

    Atlanta Technical College, Atlanta

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Atlanta Technical College, Atlanta · HVAC technician · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,100
    Price if you pay yourself$3,170
    School website, Heating And Air Conditioning Installation Technician --Haa1-- at Atlanta Technical College
    More details about Heating And Air Conditioning Installation Technician --Haa1-- at Atlanta Technical College
    Finished
    18%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,016
    Length
    15 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    250
    a year, estimated
    $32,100
    price
    $3,170
  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Air Conditioning Technology Diploma--Act2

    Gwinnett Technical College, Lawrenceville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Gwinnett Technical College, Lawrenceville · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,800
    Price if you pay yourself$6,472
    More details about Air Conditioning Technology Diploma--Act2 at Gwinnett Technical College
    Finished
    21%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,458
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,650
    Students counted
    200
    a year, estimated
    $33,800
    price
    $6,472
  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Air Conditioning Technology Act2

    West Georgia Technical College, Waco

    High school diploma or equivalent

    West Georgia Technical College, Waco · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,000
    Price if you pay yourself$7,562
    More details about Air Conditioning Technology Act2 at West Georgia Technical College
    Finished
    24%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,739
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $806
    Students counted
    176
    a year, estimated
    $35,000
    price
    $7,562
  • HVAC (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    AIR CONDITIONING TECHNOLOGY AAS--act3

    Gwinnett Technical College, Lawrenceville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Gwinnett Technical College, Lawrenceville · HVAC (associate degree) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,600
    Price if you pay yourself$8,090
    More details about AIR CONDITIONING TECHNOLOGY AAS--act3 at Gwinnett Technical College
    Finished
    44%
    Working at 6 months
    90%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,388
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,650
    Students counted
    118
    a year, estimated
    $29,600
    price
    $8,090
  • HVAC technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Air Conditioning Technology --Az31--

    Atlanta Technical College, Atlanta

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Atlanta Technical College, Atlanta · HVAC technician · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,700
    Price if you pay yourself$8,209
    School website, Air Conditioning Technology --Az31-- at Atlanta Technical College
    More details about Air Conditioning Technology --Az31-- at Atlanta Technical College
    Finished
    14%
    Working at 6 months
    61%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,428
    Length
    45 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    110
    a year, estimated
    $33,700
    price
    $8,209
  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Air Conditioning Technology -Act2--

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College, Clarkston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College, Clarkston · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,800
    Price if you pay yourself$6,979
    More details about Air Conditioning Technology -Act2-- at Georgia Piedmont Technical College
    Finished
    23%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,210
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    108
    a year, estimated
    $20,800
    price
    $6,979
  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning And Refrigeration

    Fortis College, Smyrna

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fortis College, Smyrna · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,700
    Price if you pay yourself$17,288
    More details about Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning And Refrigeration at Fortis College
    Finished
    59%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,923
    Length
    50 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $505
    Students counted
    91
    a year, estimated
    $31,700
    price
    $17,288
  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Light Commercial HVAC - CONTINUING EDUCATION

    Clayton State University, Morrow

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Clayton State University, Morrow · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,700
    Price if you pay yourself$4,100
    More details about Light Commercial HVAC - CONTINUING EDUCATION at Clayton State University
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,932
    Length
    39 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $102
    Students counted
    18
    a year, estimated
    $31,700
    price
    $4,100
  • HVAC technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Air Conditioning Technician Assistant --Az31--

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College, Clarkston

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Georgia Piedmont Technical College, Clarkston · HVAC technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,579
    More details about Air Conditioning Technician Assistant --Az31-- at Georgia Piedmont Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,579

How to pay for HVAC training in Atlanta

Workforce funding can pay for HVAC training in Atlanta

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for HVAC training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for HVAC training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Atlanta HVAC program numbers come from

Which Atlanta HVAC programs are on this list?

These are the HVAC programs with classes in the Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Georgia page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Atlanta HVAC program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some HVAC programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about HVAC training in Atlanta

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs