Construction training programs in Alaska
19 construction programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these construction programs, and Alaska has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Construction laborers and helpers do tasks on construction sites such as supplying and holding materials and tools and cleaning work areas and equipment. Most learn on the job and some through apprenticeships that add technical instruction, and employers often require safety certification that meets OSHA guidelines, before or after hiring.1
In Alaska, 4 of the 19 programs take students without a high school diploma, 14 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 19 programs here are construction trades certificate or diploma (7 programs), building and facilities maintenance (4 programs), pre-apprenticeship (2 programs), construction technology (associate degree, 2 programs), and 4 more of 3 other kinds.
See the 19 programsHow much do construction training programs cost in Alaska?
$4,316 to $8,540 is what most construction programs in Alaska cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 19 programs with a price. All of them: $1,640 to $18,000
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 81%
- Working 6 months later
- 72%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $30,900
- Length
- 4 to 33 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Alaska may also offer construction training programs. How these figures are made
All 19 construction programs in Alaska approved for WIOA funding
Filters
19 programs
Construction Trades Pre-Apprentice Program
Alaska Works Partnership Inc
Anchorage
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$76,100Price if you pay yourself$9,281Program website, Construction Trades Pre-Apprentice Program at Alaska Works Partnership IncMore details about Construction Trades Pre-Apprentice Program at Alaska Works Partnership Inc
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $19,016
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,994
- Earned a year, estimated
- $76,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,281
Construction Technology Level I
Ilisagvik College
Barrow
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$63,500Price if you pay yourself$3,245Program website, Construction Technology Level I at Ilisagvik CollegeMore details about Construction Technology Level I at Ilisagvik College
- Finished
- 25%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,884
- Length
- 15 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $6,550
- Students counted
- 86
- Earned a year, estimated
- $63,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,245
Building Maintenance Quality Pre-Apprenticeship
Alaska Works Partnership Inc
Anchorage
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,800Price if you pay yourself$7,152Program website, Building Maintenance Quality Pre-Apprenticeship at Alaska Works Partnership IncMore details about Building Maintenance Quality Pre-Apprenticeship at Alaska Works Partnership Inc
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- 53%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,445
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 76
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,152
Construction Technology (AAS)
Ilisagvik College
Barrow
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,000Price if you pay yourself$13,155Program website, Construction Technology (AAS) at Ilisagvik CollegeMore details about Construction Technology (AAS) at Ilisagvik College
- Finished
- 23%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,999
- Length
- 61 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $26,050
- Students counted
- 72
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $13,155
Industrial and Construction Skilled Laborer
Northern Industrial Training (NIT)
Palmer
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$38,900Price if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, Industrial and Construction Skilled Laborer at Northern Industrial Training (NIT)More details about Industrial and Construction Skilled Laborer at Northern Industrial Training (NIT)
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,713
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 58
- Earned a year, estimated
- $38,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
Construction Management (AAS)
University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
Anchorage
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,900Price if you pay yourself$18,000Program website, Construction Management (AAS) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)More details about Construction Management (AAS) at University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,722
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,500
- Students counted
- 51
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,000
Construction Management (AAS)
University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
Fairbanks
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$64,700Price if you pay yourself$18,000Program website, Construction Management (AAS) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAFMore details about Construction Management (AAS) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
- Finished
- 21%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,173
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,500
- Students counted
- 44
- Earned a year, estimated
- $64,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,000
RFMT 100 Workplace Fundamentals
Yuut Elitnaurviat
Bethel
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$18,800Price if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, RFMT 100 Workplace Fundamentals at Yuut ElitnaurviatMore details about RFMT 100 Workplace Fundamentals at Yuut Elitnaurviat
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,707
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $525
- Students counted
- 41
- Earned a year, estimated
- $18,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
Construction Technology
AVTEC - Alaska Vocational Technical Center
Seward
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,800Price if you pay yourself$3,6323 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Construction Technology at AVTEC - Alaska Vocational Technical CenterMore details about Construction Technology at AVTEC - Alaska Vocational Technical Center
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,938
- Length
- 19 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,828
- Students counted
- 40
- Earned a year, estimated
- $27,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,632
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Residential and Building Maintenance
AVTEC - Alaska Vocational Technical Center
Seward
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$23,300Price if you pay yourself$2,575Program website, Residential and Building Maintenance at AVTEC - Alaska Vocational Technical CenterMore details about Residential and Building Maintenance at AVTEC - Alaska Vocational Technical Center
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,826
- Length
- 6 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,575
RFMT 160 Plumbing and Electrical Fixtures
Yuut Elitnaurviat
Bethel
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$14,300Price if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, RFMT 160 Plumbing and Electrical Fixtures at Yuut ElitnaurviatMore details about RFMT 160 Plumbing and Electrical Fixtures at Yuut Elitnaurviat
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,566
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $825
- Students counted
- 31
- Earned a year, estimated
- $14,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
Metal Studs Framing/Sheetrock & Taping
Alaska Works Partnership Inc
Anchorage
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$30,900Price if you pay yourself$6,319School website, Metal Studs Framing/Sheetrock & Taping at Alaska Works Partnership IncMore details about Metal Studs Framing/Sheetrock & Taping at Alaska Works Partnership Inc
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,716
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,319
Construction Trades Technology (formerly Construction Trades/Plumbing Systems/Electrical Systems)
Alaska Technical Center - Northwest Arctic Borough SD
Kotzebue
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,400Price if you pay yourself$5,775Program website, Construction Trades Technology (formerly Construction Trades/Plumbing Systems/Electrical Systems) at Alaska Technical Center - Northwest Arctic Borough SDMore details about Construction Trades Technology (formerly Construction Trades/Plumbing Systems/Electrical Systems) at Alaska Technical Center - Northwest Arctic Borough SD
- Finished
- 45%
- Working at 6 months
- 52%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,102
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $9,984
- Students counted
- 21
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,775
Residential Construction
Amundsen Educational Center - Building Hope Construction
Soldotna
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$9,100Price if you pay yourself$7,800Program website, Residential Construction at Amundsen Educational Center - Building Hope ConstructionMore details about Residential Construction at Amundsen Educational Center - Building Hope Construction
- Finished
- 43%
- Working at 6 months
- 36%
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,263
- Length
- 36 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $9,100
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $9,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,800
Construction Technology (AAS)
University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)
Juneau
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$18,000Program website, Construction Technology (AAS) at University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)More details about Construction Technology (AAS) at University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,500
- Students counted
- 17
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,000
Workforce Readiness Construction Boot Camp
Northern Industrial Training (NIT)
Palmer
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,640School website, Workforce Readiness Construction Boot Camp at Northern Industrial Training (NIT)More details about Workforce Readiness Construction Boot Camp at Northern Industrial Training (NIT)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,640
Construction Technology (OEC)
University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)
Juneau
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,600Program website, Construction Technology (OEC) at University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)More details about Construction Technology (OEC) at University of Alaska Southeast (UAS)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,600
CTT: Facilities Maintenance (OEC)
University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
Fairbanks
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,400Program website, CTT: Facilities Maintenance (OEC) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAFMore details about CTT: Facilities Maintenance (OEC) at University of Alaska Fairbanks - UAF
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,350
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,400
Construction Technology Level II
Ilisagvik College
Barrow
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,440Program website, Construction Technology Level II at Ilisagvik CollegeMore details about Construction Technology Level II at Ilisagvik College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $6,550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,440
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for construction training programs in Alaska
WIOA funding can pay for construction training programs in Alaska
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for construction training programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for construction training programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Construction training programs in Alaska
- programs with a price cost under $5,000
- 5 of 19
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 21st of 28
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 6 of 15
- construction programs here, against the typical state's 7
- 19 vs 7
State comparisons use the same figures as the construction training programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Construction training programs in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau and other Alaska cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 9 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Alaska
How construction training programs compare with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Alaska
- CDL training42 programs
- CNA classes5 programs
- Medical assistant training6 programs
- Phlebotomy training3 programs
- Welding classes19 programs
- HVAC training5 programs
- Medical billing and coding training6 programs
- EMT classes4 programs
- Electrician training3 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes5 programs
- Pharmacy technician training1 program
- Plumbing school3 programs
- Carpentry classes15 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training9 programs
- Diesel mechanic training3 programs
- Cybersecurity training1 program
- IT training6 programs
- Barber school3 programs
- Esthetician school4 programs
- Nail tech school3 programs
- Massage therapy school2 programs
- Paralegal programs3 programs
- Fire academy3 programs
- Police academy5 programs
- Surgical tech programs1 program
- Culinary school8 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training2 programs
- Human resources training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training6 programs
- Early childhood education programs5 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school12 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training4 programs
- Hospitality management programs1 program
- Coding and software development courses1 program
- Sonography school1 program
- Administrative assistant training7 programs
- Medical lab technician programs2 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses2 programs
- Health information technology programs3 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Crane operator training1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Flight school41 programs
- Mental health technician training1 program
- Human services programs4 programs
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training3 programs
- Business administration programs14 programs
- Criminal justice programs1 program
- Teacher assistant certification1 program
- Merchant mariner training22 programs
- Sheet metal training1 program
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- OSHA safety training17 programs
- Dental hygiene programs2 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes8 programs
- RN programs1 program
- Project management certification1 program
Where the Alaska construction program numbers come from
Which Alaska construction programs are on this list?
These are the construction programs Alaska approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alaska offers.
How the prices and results of Alaska construction programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about construction training programs in Alaska
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction Laborers and Helpers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List