Retraining Report
Find training

CDL training in Charlotte

11 CDL training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these truck driving programs with classes in the Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 In Charlotte, 5 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 11 programs

All 85 CDL training programs in North Carolina, including online programs

How much does CDL training cost in Charlotte?

$1,903 to $4,125

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 11 programs with a price: $180 to $4,995

Finished the program
87%
Working 6 months later
55%
Earned a year, estimated
about $40,000
Length
4 to 7 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Is there free CDL training in Charlotte?

All 11 CDL training programs in Charlotte approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Class AHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Class A Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Training

    160 Driving Academy, Charlotte

    High school diploma or equivalent

    160 Driving Academy, Charlotte · Class A · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$42,700
    Price if you pay yourself$3,177
    More details about Class A Commercial Drivers License (CDL) Training at 160 Driving Academy
    Finished
    91%
    Working at 6 months
    52%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,671
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $323
    Students counted
    1,698
    a year, estimated
    $42,700
    price
    $3,177
  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Truck Driver - Cdl - Semi - Tractor Trailer

    Truck Driver Institute, Richburg

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Truck Driver Institute, Richburg · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$37,400
    Price if you pay yourself$4,995
    Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl - Semi - Tractor Trailer at Truck Driver Institute
    More details about Truck Driver - Cdl - Semi - Tractor Trailer at Truck Driver Institute
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    46%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,346
    Length
    3 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $34
    Students counted
    852
    a year, estimated
    $37,400
    price
    $4,995
  • Class AIn personNo diploma needed

    CDL Professional Truck Driving - Class A

    Cl Driving School, Indian Trail

    No diploma needed

    Cl Driving School, Indian Trail · Class A · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$47,800
    Price if you pay yourself$3,750
    Program website, CDL Professional Truck Driving - Class A at Cl Driving School
    More details about CDL Professional Truck Driving - Class A at Cl Driving School
    Finished
    97%
    Working at 6 months
    47%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,948
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $172
    Students counted
    264
    a year, estimated
    $47,800
    price
    $3,750
  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Class A Truck Driving

    Carolina Construction School LLC, Lancaster

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Carolina Construction School LLC, Lancaster · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,100
    Price if you pay yourself$4,845
    Program website, Class A Truck Driving at Carolina Construction School LLC
    More details about Class A Truck Driving at Carolina Construction School LLC
    Finished
    83%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,781
    Length
    5 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    107
    a year, estimated
    $31,100
    price
    $4,845
  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Truck Driver Training - CDL A

    South Piedmont Community College, Wadesboro

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Piedmont Community College, Wadesboro · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$44,600
    Price if you pay yourself$180
    Program website, Truck Driver Training - CDL A at South Piedmont Community College
    More details about Truck Driver Training - CDL A at South Piedmont Community College
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,144
    Length
    12 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $921
    Students counted
    87
    a year, estimated
    $44,600
    price
    $180
  • CDL (class not stated)In personNo diploma needed

    Transenergy CDL Academy

    Transenergy CDL Academy, Gastonia

    No diploma needed

    Transenergy CDL Academy, Gastonia · CDL (class not stated) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$44,200
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    More details about Transenergy CDL Academy at Transenergy CDL Academy
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    53%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,057
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $318
    Students counted
    64
    a year, estimated
    $44,200
    price
    $4,500
  • Class AIn personNo diploma needed

    CDL A Program

    2nd Opportunity Trucking School, Statesville

    No diploma needed

    2nd Opportunity Trucking School, Statesville · Class A · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,800
    More details about CDL A Program at 2nd Opportunity Trucking School
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $200
    Students counted
    33
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,800
  • Class AIn personEducation and courses

    Truck Driver Training - CDL A

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, Salisbury

    Education and courses

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, Salisbury · Class A · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$29,300
    Price if you pay yourself$1,807
    Program website, Truck Driver Training - CDL A at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
    More details about Truck Driver Training - CDL A at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,320
    Length
    9 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $306
    Students counted
    25
    a year, estimated
    $29,300
    price
    $1,807
  • CDL (class not stated)HybridNo diploma needed

    Truck Driver Training

    Gaston College, Dallas

    No diploma needed

    Gaston College, Dallas · CDL (class not stated) · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$30,900
    Price if you pay yourself$1,999
    Program website, Truck Driver Training at Gaston College
    More details about Truck Driver Training at Gaston College
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,733
    Length
    9 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $327
    Students counted
    10
    a year, estimated
    $30,900
    price
    $1,999
  • Class BHybridEducation and courses

    Truck Driver Training - CDL B

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, Salisbury

    Education and courses

    Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, Salisbury · Class B · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,807
    Program website, Truck Driver Training - CDL B at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
    More details about Truck Driver Training - CDL B at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $306
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $1,807
  • Class BIn personNo diploma needed

    CDL PROFESSIONAL TRUCK DRIVING TRAINING - Class B

    Cl Driving School, Indian Trail

    No diploma needed

    Cl Driving School, Indian Trail · Class B · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,750
    School website, CDL PROFESSIONAL TRUCK DRIVING TRAINING - Class B at Cl Driving School
    More details about CDL PROFESSIONAL TRUCK DRIVING TRAINING - Class B at Cl Driving School
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $172
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,750

How to pay for CDL training in Charlotte

Workforce funding can pay for CDL training in Charlotte

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for CDL training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

Company-paid CDL training

Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.7

GI Bill for CDL training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Charlotte truck driving program numbers come from

Which Charlotte truck driving programs are on this list?

These are the truck driving programs with classes in the Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the North Carolina page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Charlotte truck driving program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some truck driving programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about CDL training in Charlotte

Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs