CDL training in Hawaii
5 CDL (commercial driver's license) training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these truck driving programs, and Hawaii has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 3 of these 5 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 Since February 7, 2022, federal rules require anyone getting a Class A or B license for the first time, or upgrading to one, to train with a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry.2
In Hawaii, 2 of the 5 programs take students without a high school diploma and 3 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 5 programs here are Class A (2 programs), endorsements and permit prep (1 program), CDL (class not stated, 1 program) and Class B (1 program).
See the 5 programsHow much does CDL training cost in Hawaii?
$3,500 to $3,800 is what most CDL training programs in Hawaii cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $295 to $4,200
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 5 to 7 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Hawaii may also offer CDL training. How these figures are made
All 5 CDL training programs in Hawaii approved for WIOA funding
Filters
5 programs
Commercial Motor Vehicle Class A (without Permit Preparation)
Leeward Community College
Pearl City
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$65,300Price if you pay yourself$3,80035 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Commercial Motor Vehicle Class A (without Permit Preparation) at Leeward Community CollegeMore details about Commercial Motor Vehicle Class A (without Permit Preparation) at Leeward Community College
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- 57%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,320
- Length
- 7 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 182
- Earned a year, estimated
- $65,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,800
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 35
Commercial Motor Vehicle Permit Preparation Class
Leeward Community College
Pearl City
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$61,300Price if you pay yourself$295Program website, Commercial Motor Vehicle Permit Preparation Class at Leeward Community CollegeMore details about Commercial Motor Vehicle Permit Preparation Class at Leeward Community College
- Finished
- 57%
- Working at 6 months
- 58%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,318
- Length
- 1 week, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 89
- Earned a year, estimated
- $61,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $295
Commercial Drivers License
808 CDL Services LLC
Keaau
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$67,600Price if you pay yourself$3,50038 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Commercial Drivers License at 808 CDL Services LLCMore details about Commercial Drivers License at 808 CDL Services LLC
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,898
- Length
- 5 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 38
- Earned a year, estimated
- $67,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 38
Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
Hawaii CDL Academy, LLC
Keaau
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,20013 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Commercial Driver's License (CDL) at Hawaii CDL Academy, LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 14
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,200
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 13
Commercial Driver License (CMV) Class B
Leeward Community College
Pearl City
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,600School website, Commercial Driver License (CMV) Class B at Leeward Community CollegeMore details about Commercial Driver License (CMV) Class B at Leeward Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,600
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CDL training in Hawaii
WIOA funding can pay for CDL training in Hawaii
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for CDL training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
Company-paid CDL training
Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.9
GI Bill for CDL training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.10
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: CDL training in Hawaii
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 10th of 45
- CDL training programs here, against the typical state's 35
- 5 vs 35
State comparisons use the same figures as the CDL training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
CDL training in Urban Honolulu, Hilo and other Hawaii cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Hawaii
- CNA classes7 programs
- Medical assistant training8 programs
- Phlebotomy training1 program
- Welding classes2 programs
- HVAC training1 program
- Medical billing and coding training8 programs
- EMT classes2 programs
- Electrician training8 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1 program
- Pharmacy technician training5 programs
- Carpentry classes5 programs
- Cybersecurity training7 programs
- IT training16 programs
- Cosmetology school1 program
- Barber school1 program
- EKG technician programs2 programs
- Massage therapy school1 program
- Paralegal programs1 program
- Fire academy1 program
- Surgical tech programs1 program
- Culinary school7 programs
- PTA programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training5 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training1 program
- Early childhood education programs3 programs
- Hospitality management programs1 program
- Community health worker training1 program
- Data analytics courses3 programs
- Administrative assistant training2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs2 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses1 program
- Health information technology programs2 programs
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Security guard training1 program
- Patient care technician training1 program
- OTA programs1 program
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- Customer service training1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs2 programs
- Business administration programs2 programs
- Criminal justice programs2 programs
- Teacher assistant certification2 programs
- Sheet metal training1 program
- OSHA safety training1 program
- Optician training1 program
- Construction training programs1 program
- Dental hygiene programs1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes1 program
- RN programs2 programs
Where the Hawaii truck driving program numbers come from
Which Hawaii truck driving programs are on this list?
These are the truck driving programs Hawaii approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).11 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Hawaii offers.
How the prices and results of Hawaii truck driving programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about CDL training in Hawaii
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 49 CFR part 380, subpart F, Entry-level driver training requirements
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List