Pharmacy technician training in Hawaii
5 pharmacy technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these pharmacy technician programs, and Hawaii has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Pharmacy technicians help pharmacists dispense medications, manage stock and serve customers. Many programs award a certificate after a year or less, most states regulate the work in some way, and some states and employers require certification.1 In Hawaii, 1 of the 5 programs takes students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 5 programsHow much does pharmacy technician training cost in Hawaii?
$2,265 to $4,000 is what most pharmacy technician programs in Hawaii cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $1,800 to $4,000
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 66%
- Working 6 months later
- 63%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $34,600
- Length
- 16 to 24 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Hawaii may also offer pharmacy technician training. How these figures are made
All 5 pharmacy technician programs in Hawaii approved for WIOA funding
Filters
5 programs
Pharmacy Technician
Leeward Community College
Pearl City
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$25,900Price if you pay yourself$1,800Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Leeward Community CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Leeward Community College
- Finished
- 59%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,474
- Length
- 12 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 324
- a year, estimated
- $25,900
- price
- $1,800
Pharmacy Technician Professional
MedCerts LLC dba MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Pharmacy Technician Professional at MedCerts LLC dba MedCertsMore details about Pharmacy Technician Professional at MedCerts LLC dba MedCerts
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,640
- Length
- 25 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 259
- a year, estimated
- $34,600
- price
- $4,000
Pharmacy Technician
Kapiolani Community College
Honolulu
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$25,600Price if you pay yourself$2,2654 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Pharmacy Technician at Kapiolani Community CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Kapiolani Community College
- Finished
- 8%
- Working at 6 months
- 46%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,396
- Length
- 20 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 190
- a year, estimated
- $25,600
- price
- $2,265
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Pharmacy Technician Specialist
MedCerts LLC dba MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$2,700School website, Pharmacy Technician Specialist at MedCerts LLC dba MedCertsMore details about Pharmacy Technician Specialist at MedCerts LLC dba MedCerts
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,640
- Length
- 16 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 181
- a year, estimated
- $34,600
- price
- $2,700
Medication Care Coordinator
MedCerts LLC dba MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$4,000School website, Medication Care Coordinator at MedCerts LLC dba MedCertsMore details about Medication Care Coordinator at MedCerts LLC dba MedCerts
- Finished
- 78%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,640
- Length
- 24 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 30
- a year, estimated
- $34,600
- price
- $4,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for pharmacy technician training in Hawaii
WIOA funding can pay for pharmacy technician training in Hawaii
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for pharmacy technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for pharmacy technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Pharmacy technician training in Hawaii
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 16th of 40
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 16 of 18
- pharmacy technician programs here, against the typical state's 10
- 5 vs 10
State comparisons use the same figures as the pharmacy technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Hawaii pharmacy technician program numbers come from
Which Hawaii pharmacy technician programs are on this list?
These are the pharmacy technician programs Hawaii approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Hawaii offers.
How Hawaii pharmacy technician program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some pharmacy technician programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Hawaii
- CDL training5 programs
- CNA classes8 programs
- Medical assistant training8 programs
- Phlebotomy training1 program
- Welding classes2 programs
- HVAC training1 program
- Medical billing and coding training7 programs
- EMT classes2 programs
- Electrician training8 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1 program
- Carpentry classes5 programs
Sources for the facts about pharmacy technician training in Hawaii
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Pharmacy Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List