Pharmacy technician training in Richmond, Virginia
14 pharmacy technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
14 schools offer these pharmacy technician programs with classes in the Richmond area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Pharmacy technicians help pharmacists dispense medications, manage stock and serve customers. Many programs award a certificate after a year or less, most states regulate the work in some way, and some states and employers require certification.1 In Richmond, 4 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 14 programsAll 33 pharmacy technician programs in Virginia, including online programs
How much does pharmacy technician training cost in Richmond?
$866 to $1,858 is what most pharmacy technician programs in Richmond cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $525 to $15,890
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Too few programs to say
- Working 6 months later
- Too few programs to say
- Earned a year, estimated
- Too few programs to say
- Length
- 3 to 15 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Richmond may also offer pharmacy technician training. How these figures are made
All 14 pharmacy technician programs in Richmond approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Pharmacy Technician
AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
Henrico
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,2508 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Pharmacy Technician at AlliedRx Institute of HealthcareMore details about Pharmacy Technician at AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $600
- Students counted
- 93
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,250
- trained with WIOA funding
- 8
Pharmacy Technician Program
Community College Workforce Alliance
Midlothian
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$23,800Price if you pay yourself$1,299More details about Pharmacy Technician Program at Community College Workforce Alliance
- Finished
- 39%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,959
- Length
- 1 week, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $129
- Students counted
- 68
- a year, estimated
- $23,800
- price
- $1,299
J.T. Pharmacy Technician Training Program
J.T. Pharmacy Training Program
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,200Price if you pay yourself$2,8003 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about J.T. Pharmacy Technician Training Program at J.T. Pharmacy Training Program
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,550
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- $26,200
- price
- $2,800
- trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Pharmacy Technician
Chester Career College
Chester
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$15,890More details about Pharmacy Technician at Chester Career College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 45 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $151
- Students counted
- 14
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $15,890
Pharmacy Technician Program
Dream Academy Inc.
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$525More details about Pharmacy Technician Program at Dream Academy Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $224
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $525
Pharmacy Technician Program
Chesterfield Adult Education
Chesterfield
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$530School website, Pharmacy Technician Program at Chesterfield Adult EducationMore details about Pharmacy Technician Program at Chesterfield Adult Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $129
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $530
Pharmacy Technician
Henrico County Adult Education
Henrico
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$578Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Henrico County Adult EducationMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Henrico County Adult Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $182
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $578
Pharmacy Technician Program
Thomas Jennings Open Learning Village, LLC
Richmond
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$855Program website, Pharmacy Technician Program at Thomas Jennings Open Learning Village, LLCMore details about Pharmacy Technician Program at Thomas Jennings Open Learning Village, LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $20
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $855
Pharmacy Technician
Professional Career Institute
Richmond
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$900More details about Pharmacy Technician at Professional Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $220
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $900
Edgenuity Online Pharmacy Technician Training
Edgenuity Online Pharmacy Tech Training
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$950More details about Edgenuity Online Pharmacy Technician Training at Edgenuity Online Pharmacy Tech Training
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $154
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $950
Pharmacy Technician
Global Institute of Techology Services
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,200School website, Pharmacy Technician at Global Institute of Techology ServicesMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Global Institute of Techology Services
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $175
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,200
Pharmacy Technician Program
Richmond Adult Technical Center
Richmond
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,299School website, Pharmacy Technician Program at Richmond Adult Technical CenterMore details about Pharmacy Technician Program at Richmond Adult Technical Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $179
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,299
Pharmacy Technician
Petersburg High Adult & Continuing Education Program
Petersburg
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,044More details about Pharmacy Technician at Petersburg High Adult & Continuing Education Program
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $125
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,044
Pharmacy Technician
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,380Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Virginia Commonwealth UniversityMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Virginia Commonwealth University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $120
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,380
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for pharmacy technician training in Richmond
WIOA funding can pay for pharmacy technician training in Richmond
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for pharmacy technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for pharmacy technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Richmond pharmacy technician program numbers come from
Which Richmond pharmacy technician programs are on this list?
These are the pharmacy technician programs with classes in the Richmond area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Virginia page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Richmond pharmacy technician program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some pharmacy technician programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Richmond
Sources for the facts about pharmacy technician training in Richmond
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Pharmacy Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List