Medication aide training in Iowa
9 medication aide programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
8 schools offer these medication aide programs, and Iowa has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medication aides are nursing assistants who give residents and patients their medication. Whether a nursing assistant may do so depends on their training and their state, and some states offer an added credential for it, such as Certified Medication Assistant (CMA).1
In Iowa, 3 of the 9 programs take students without a high school diploma, 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 4 ask for earlier courses first.
All 9 are the same kind of program: medication aide course.
See the 9 programsHow much does medication aide training cost in Iowa?
$449 to $585 is what most medication aide programs in Iowa cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 9 programs with a price. All of them: $129 to $1,497
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 71%
- Working 6 months later
- 95%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $35,000
- Length
- 4 to 7 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Iowa may also offer medication aide training. How these figures are made
All 9 medication aide programs in Iowa approved for WIOA funding
Filters
9 programs
Certified Medication Aide
Hawkeye Community College
Waterloo
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$37,200Price if you pay yourself$499Program website, Certified Medication Aide at Hawkeye Community CollegeMore details about Certified Medication Aide at Hawkeye Community College
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 96%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,299
- Length
- 10 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 524
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $499
Medication Aide - Certification
Northeast Community College
Norfolk, NE
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Iowa; Iowa approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$15,800Price if you pay yourself$384Program website, Medication Aide - Certification at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Medication Aide - Certification at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,961
- Length
- 2 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $138
- Students counted
- 413
- Earned a year, estimated
- $15,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $384
Medication Aide
Kirkwood Community College
Cedar Rapids
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$42,900Price if you pay yourself$475Program website, Medication Aide at Kirkwood Community CollegeMore details about Medication Aide at Kirkwood Community College
- Finished
- 51%
- Working at 6 months
- 96%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,734
- Length
- 9 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 219
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $475
Medication Aide - Certificate
Western Iowa Tech Community College
Sioux City
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$15,000Price if you pay yourself$642Program website, Medication Aide - Certificate at Western Iowa Tech Community CollegeMore details about Medication Aide - Certificate at Western Iowa Tech Community College
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,756
- Length
- 6 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $697
- Students counted
- 171
- Earned a year, estimated
- $15,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $642
Certified Medication Aide
Iowa Central Community College
Fort Dodge
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,100Price if you pay yourself$549Program website, Certified Medication Aide at Iowa Central Community CollegeMore details about Certified Medication Aide at Iowa Central Community College
- Finished
- 38%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,535
- Length
- 5 weeks, 11 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $80
- Students counted
- 55
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $549
Medication Aide 6180001 (Continuing Education)
Eastern Iowa Community Colleges
Davenport
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$32,900Price if you pay yourself$449Program website, Medication Aide 6180001 (Continuing Education) at Eastern Iowa Community CollegesMore details about Medication Aide 6180001 (Continuing Education) at Eastern Iowa Community Colleges
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 94%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,213
- Length
- 7 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 45
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $449
CE Medication Manager
Iowa Lakes Community College
Based in Estherville, IA
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$129Program website, CE Medication Manager at Iowa Lakes Community CollegeMore details about CE Medication Manager at Iowa Lakes Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $129
Medication Aide
Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$585Program website, Medication Aide at Iowa Western Community CollegeMore details about Medication Aide at Iowa Western Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $585
CE Certified Medication Aide
Iowa Lakes Community College
Estherville
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,497Program website, CE Certified Medication Aide at Iowa Lakes Community CollegeMore details about CE Certified Medication Aide at Iowa Lakes Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,497
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medication aide training in Iowa
WIOA funding can pay for medication aide training in Iowa
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for medication aide training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medication aide training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Medication aide training in Iowa
- programs with a price cost under $1,000
- 8 of 9
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 3rd of 12
- medication aide programs here, against the typical state's 3
- 9 vs 3
State comparisons use the same figures as the medication aide training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Medication aide training in Waterloo, Norfolk, Cedar Rapids and other Iowa cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area, 1 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.
Other training in Iowa
How medication aide training compares with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in Iowa
- CDL training33 programs
- CNA classes22 programs
- Medical assistant training15 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes50 programs
- HVAC training13 programs
- Medical billing and coding training17 programs
- LPN programs14 programs
- EMT classes22 programs
- Electrician training5 programs
- Dental assistant programs11 programs
- Auto mechanic classes19 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school3 programs
- CNC machinist training10 programs
- Carpentry classes12 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training8 programs
- Cybersecurity training12 programs
- IT training40 programs
- Cosmetology school9 programs
- Barber school3 programs
- Esthetician school7 programs
- Nail tech school6 programs
- EKG technician programs1 program
- Massage therapy school13 programs
- Paralegal programs10 programs
- Fire academy4 programs
- Surgical tech programs7 programs
- Radiology tech programs9 programs
- Culinary school8 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training10 programs
- Human resources training6 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training23 programs
- Early childhood education programs20 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school3 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training5 programs
- Hospitality management programs10 programs
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses20 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sterile processing technician training3 programs
- Sonography school3 programs
- Data analytics courses4 programs
- Administrative assistant training32 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs5 programs
- Medical lab technician programs10 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses10 programs
- Digital marketing courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses14 programs
- Health information technology programs7 programs
- Vet tech programs6 programs
- Patient care technician training1 program
- OTA programs2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs4 programs
- Customer service training4 programs
- Flight school1 program
- MRI tech school1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Mental health technician training3 programs
- Human services programs12 programs
- Manufacturing technician training2 programs
- Electronics technician training10 programs
- Business administration programs26 programs
- Criminal justice programs7 programs
- Teacher assistant certification8 programs
- Auto body repair classes12 programs
- Solar and wind technician training5 programs
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs10 programs
- Dental hygiene programs5 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes32 programs
- RN programs22 programs
- Project management certification10 programs
Where the Iowa medication aide program numbers come from
Which Iowa medication aide programs are on this list?
These are the medication aide programs Iowa approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Iowa offers.
How the prices and results of Iowa medication aide programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about medication aide training in Iowa
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List