Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical lab technician programs in Alabama

4 medical lab programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these medical lab programs, and Alabama has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians run the medical lab tests used to diagnose, treat and prevent disease. Most need a bachelor's degree, though technicians sometimes qualify with an associate degree and some vocational and technical schools offer technician certificates; some states require a license, and employers may prefer certification.1

In Alabama, all 4 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 4 programs here are medical lab technician (associate degree, 2 programs) and medical lab program (level not stated, 2 programs).

See the 4 programs

How much do medical lab technician programs cost in Alabama?

$10,400 to $14,814

is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Left out
Alabama's rates sit far below every other state's
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Alabama may also offer medical lab technician programs. How these figures are made

Are there free medical lab technician programs in Alabama?

All 4 medical lab programs in Alabama approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Laboratory Technician AAS

    Wallace State Community College

    Hanceville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Wallace State Community College, HancevilleMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,400
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician AAS at Wallace State Community College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technician AAS at Wallace State Community College
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,250
    Students counted
    61
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,400
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician AAS at Wallace State Community College
  • Medical lab program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Laboratory Technology

    Calhoun Community College

    Decatur

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Calhoun Community College, DecaturMedical lab program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,900
    Price if you pay yourself$12,212

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology at Calhoun Community College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technology at Calhoun Community College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,723
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $2,200
    Students counted
    49
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,212
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology at Calhoun Community College
  • Medical lab technician (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Lab Technician Degree

    Gadsden State Community College

    Gadsden

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Gadsden State Community College, GadsdenMedical lab technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,800
    Price if you pay yourself$14,814

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Lab Technician Degree at Gadsden State Community College
    More details about Medical Lab Technician Degree at Gadsden State Community College
    Finished
    68%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,946
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,705
    Students counted
    42
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,814
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Medical Lab Technician Degree at Gadsden State Community College
  • Medical lab program (level not stated)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Laboratory Technology

    Jefferson State Community College

    Birmingham

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Jefferson State Community College, BirminghamMedical lab program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,900
    Price if you pay yourself$11,760
    School website, Medical Laboratory Technology at Jefferson State Community College
    More details about Medical Laboratory Technology at Jefferson State Community College
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,729
    Length
    104 weeks, 36 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,900
    Students counted
    39
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,760
    School website, Medical Laboratory Technology at Jefferson State Community College

How to pay for medical lab technician programs in Alabama

WIOA funding can pay for medical lab technician programs in Alabama

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical lab technician programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical lab technician programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Medical lab technician programs in Cullman, Huntsville, Gadsden and other Alabama cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in Alabama

How medical lab technician programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Alabama

Where the Alabama medical lab program numbers come from

Which Alabama medical lab programs are on this list?

These are the medical lab programs Alabama approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alabama offers.

How the prices and results of Alabama medical lab programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Alabama figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Alabama among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Alabama: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Sources for the facts about medical lab technician programs in Alabama

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns