Medical assistant training in Virginia Beach, Virginia
13 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Virginia Beach, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 6 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 13 programsAll 36 medical assistant programs in Virginia, including online programs
How much does a medical assistant program cost in Virginia Beach?
$3,267 to $25,182 is what most medical assistant programs in Virginia Beach cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 13 programs with a price. All of them: $1,380 to $44,170
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 84%
- Working 6 months later
- 69%
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Length
- 18 to 48 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Virginia Beach may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made
All 13 medical assistant programs in Virginia Beach approved for WIOA funding
Filters
13 programs
Associate of Applied Science in Health Science, Medical Assisting
ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads)
Virginia Beach
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$27,149More details about Associate of Applied Science in Health Science, Medical Assisting at ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads)
- Finished
- 37%
- Working at 6 months
- 25%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 1 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 301
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $27,149
Medical Assistant
Centura College/Chesapeake, Norfolk, Peninsula
Virginia Beach
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,100Price if you pay yourself$25,1829 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Medical Assistant at Centura College/Chesapeake, Norfolk, Peninsula
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,769
- Length
- 48 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 299
- a year, estimated
- $35,100
- price
- $25,182
- trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Clinical Medical Assistant (CMA)
Tidewater Community College
Norfolk
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,600Price if you pay yourself$3,900More details about Clinical Medical Assistant (CMA) at Tidewater Community College
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,895
- Length
- 19 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 258
- a year, estimated
- $39,600
- price
- $3,900
Clinical Medical Assistant
Tidewater Medical Training
Hampton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,58024 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Tidewater Medical Training
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 25%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $690
- Students counted
- 222
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,580
- trained with WIOA funding
- 24
Clinical Medical Assisting (CMA)
Virginia Peninsula Community College
Hampton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,900Price if you pay yourself$3,2673 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Clinical Medical Assisting (CMA) at Virginia Peninsula Community CollegeMore details about Clinical Medical Assisting (CMA) at Virginia Peninsula Community College
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,966
- Length
- 18 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 122
- a year, estimated
- $31,900
- price
- $3,267
- trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology
Centura College/Chesapeake, Norfolk, Peninsula
Virginia Beach
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$32,6424 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology at Centura College/Chesapeake, Norfolk, Peninsula
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 65 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 78
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $32,642
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Medical Assisting Associate Degree
Bryant and Stratton College-Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$44,170School website, Medical Assisting Associate Degree at Bryant and Stratton College-Virginia BeachMore details about Medical Assisting Associate Degree at Bryant and Stratton College-Virginia Beach
- Finished
- 18%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 1 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 49
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $44,170
Clinical Medical Assistant
Virginia Beach City Public Schools - Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$24,700Price if you pay yourself$3,0376 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Virginia Beach City Public Schools - Adult Learning Center
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,185
- Length
- 15 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 26
- a year, estimated
- $24,700
- price
- $3,037
- trained with WIOA funding
- 6
Administrative Medical Assistant
Tidewater Medical Training
Hampton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,3807 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Administrative Medical Assistant at Tidewater Medical Training
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $345
- Students counted
- 23
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,380
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Diploma in Medical Assisting
ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads)
Virginia Beach
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$20,390More details about Diploma in Medical Assisting at ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads)
- Finished
- 24%
- Working at 6 months
- 25%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 45 weeks, 1 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 17
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $20,390
Certified Medical Assistant Program
Old Dominion University
Norfolk
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,999More details about Certified Medical Assistant Program at Old Dominion University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,999
Clinical Medical Assistant
Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
Williamsburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,925School website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,925
Medical Assisting
Fortis College-Norfolk
Norfolk
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,132More details about Medical Assisting at Fortis College-Norfolk
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,091
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $16,132
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical assistant training in Virginia Beach
WIOA funding can pay for medical assistant training in Virginia Beach
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Virginia Beach medical assistant program numbers come from
Which Virginia Beach medical assistant programs are on this list?
These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Virginia page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Virginia Beach medical assistant program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Virginia Beach
Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Virginia Beach
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List