Retraining Report
Find training

Medical assistant training in Nashville

10 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

10 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Nashville, 2 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 10 programs

All 36 medical assistant programs in Tennessee, including online programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in Nashville?

$3,580 to $7,942

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 10 programs with a price: $2,395 to $16,685

Finished the program
78%
Working 6 months later
78%
Earned a year, estimated
about $28,000
Length
14 to 37 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in Nashville?

All 10 medical assistant programs in Nashville approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Fortis Institute, Nashville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fortis Institute, Nashville · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$24,200
    Price if you pay yourself$16,132
    School website, Medical Assistant at Fortis Institute
    More details about Medical Assistant at Fortis Institute
    Finished
    50%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,040
    Length
    36 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,147
    Students counted
    590
    a year, estimated
    $24,200
    price
    $16,132
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Edumed Partners, LLC, Goodlettsville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Edumed Partners, LLC, Goodlettsville · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,300
    Price if you pay yourself$6,500
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Edumed Partners, LLC
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Edumed Partners, LLC
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,822
    Length
    31 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,060
    Students counted
    435
    a year, estimated
    $27,300
    price
    $6,500
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting

    Tn Professional Training Institute, Murfreesboro

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tn Professional Training Institute, Murfreesboro · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,900
    Price if you pay yourself$3,400
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Tn Professional Training Institute
    More details about Medical Assisting at Tn Professional Training Institute
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    50%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,726
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $200
    Students counted
    88
    a year, estimated
    $34,900
    price
    $3,400
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting

    Remington College's Nashville Campus, Nashville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Remington College's Nashville Campus, Nashville · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,685
    More details about Medical Assisting at Remington College's Nashville Campus
    Finished
    45%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 21 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    81
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $16,685
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    PATIENT CARE TECHNICIAN/Medical Assistant

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hartsville, Hartsville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hartsville, Hartsville · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,300
    Price if you pay yourself$4,119
    Program website, PATIENT CARE TECHNICIAN/Medical Assistant at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hartsville
    More details about PATIENT CARE TECHNICIAN/Medical Assistant at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hartsville
    Finished
    59%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,080
    Length
    44 weeks, 33 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,700
    Students counted
    56
    a year, estimated
    $36,300
    price
    $4,119
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assistant Day Program

    Allied Health Careers Institute, Murfreesboro

    No diploma needed

    Allied Health Careers Institute, Murfreesboro · Clinical medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$27,800
    Price if you pay yourself$8,423
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant Day Program at Allied Health Careers Institute
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant Day Program at Allied Health Careers Institute
    Finished
    84%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,950
    Length
    22 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $410
    Students counted
    52
    a year, estimated
    $27,800
    price
    $8,423
  • Clinical medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Clinical Medical Assistant

    Volunteer State Community College, Gallatin

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Volunteer State Community College, Gallatin · Clinical medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,300
    Price if you pay yourself$2,395
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Volunteer State Community College
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at Volunteer State Community College
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    57%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,073
    Length
    37 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $389
    Students counted
    34
    a year, estimated
    $28,300
    price
    $2,395
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Nats, Inc., Nashville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nats, Inc., Nashville · Clinical medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,800
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Nats, Inc.
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Nats, Inc.
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    11
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,800
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Nashville State Community College, Nashville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nashville State Community College, Nashville · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,570
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Nashville State Community College
    More details about Medical Assistant at Nashville State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,570
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Technology/Medical Assisting

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Dickson, Dickson

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Dickson, Dickson · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,119
    School website, Patient Care Technology/Medical Assisting at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Dickson
    More details about Patient Care Technology/Medical Assisting at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Dickson
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    43 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,548
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,119

How to pay for medical assistant training in Nashville

Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in Nashville

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Nashville medical assistant program numbers come from

Which Nashville medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Tennessee page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Nashville medical assistant program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Nashville

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs