Lineman school in Alabama
8 lineman programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these lineman programs, and Alabama has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electrical power-line installers and repairers put up and repair the cables and wires that carry electricity, and may erect poles and transmission towers. Most start with a high school diploma and learn in an apprenticeship or employer training program of up to three years; some community colleges offer one-year certificates and two-year degrees.1
In Alabama, 1 of the 8 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 7 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 8 programs here are pre-apprenticeship lineworker training (6 programs), lineworker certificate or course (1 program) and communications lineworker or fiber optic course (1 program).
See the 8 programsHow much does lineman school cost in Alabama?
$4,150 to $5,175 is what most lineman programs in Alabama cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $3,910 to $16,345
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 89%
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Alabama's rates sit far below every other state's
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $46,400
- Length
- Not enough data
- 2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Alabama may also offer lineman school. How these figures are made
All 8 lineman programs in Alabama approved for WIOA funding
Filters
8 programs
Pre-Apprenticeship - Lineworker Program
Calhoun Community College
Decatur
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$41,900Price if you pay yourself$4,59026 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Pre-Apprenticeship - Lineworker Program at Calhoun Community CollegeMore details about Pre-Apprenticeship - Lineworker Program at Calhoun Community College
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,471
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 162
- Earned a year, estimated
- $41,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,590
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 26
Pre-apprentice Electrical Lineworker
George C. Wallace Community College
Dothan
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,700Price if you pay yourself$4,15016 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Pre-apprentice Electrical Lineworker at George C. Wallace Community CollegeMore details about Pre-apprentice Electrical Lineworker at George C. Wallace Community College
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,413
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 127
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,150
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 16
Electrical Lineworker Program
Southeast Lineman Training Center
Trenton, GA
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Alabama; Alabama approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$46,400Price if you pay yourself$16,3455 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Electrical Lineworker Program at Southeast Lineman Training CenterMore details about Electrical Lineworker Program at Southeast Lineman Training Center
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,589
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $6,400
- Students counted
- 74
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $16,345
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Pre-Apprentice Line Worker
Bishop State Community College
Mobile
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$53,900Price if you pay yourself$3,91023 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Pre-Apprentice Line Worker at Bishop State Community CollegeMore details about Pre-Apprentice Line Worker at Bishop State Community College
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,479
- Length
- 9 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $465
- Students counted
- 65
- Earned a year, estimated
- $53,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,910
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 23
Pre-Apprenticeship Lineworker Training Program
Lawson State Community College
Birmingham
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$49,200Price if you pay yourself$4,1508 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Pre-Apprenticeship Lineworker Training Program at Lawson State Community CollegeMore details about Pre-Apprenticeship Lineworker Training Program at Lawson State Community College
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,294
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 51
- Earned a year, estimated
- $49,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,150
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 8
Line Worker Training (Pre-Apprenticeship)
Trenholm State Community College
Montgomery
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,400Price if you pay yourself$4,90014 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Line Worker Training (Pre-Apprenticeship) at Trenholm State Community CollegeMore details about Line Worker Training (Pre-Apprenticeship) at Trenholm State Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,600
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 30
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,900
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 14
Pre-Apprenticeship Lineworker Training Program
Jefferson State Community College
Birmingham
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,350Program website, Pre-Apprenticeship Lineworker Training Program at Jefferson State Community CollegeMore details about Pre-Apprenticeship Lineworker Training Program at Jefferson State Community College
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $580
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,350
Communications Lineworker Program
Southeast Lineman Training Center
Trenton, GA
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Alabama; Alabama approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Communications Lineworker Program at Southeast Lineman Training CenterMore details about Communications Lineworker Program at Southeast Lineman Training Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,955
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for lineman school in Alabama
WIOA funding can pay for lineman school in Alabama
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for lineman school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for lineman school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Lineman school in Alabama
- programs with a price cost under $5,000
- 6 of 8
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 4th of 15
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 4 of 10
- lineman programs here, against the typical state's 4
- 8 vs 4
State comparisons use the same figures as the lineman school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Lineman school in Chattanooga, Birmingham, Huntsville and other Alabama cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Alabama
How lineman school compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Alabama
- CDL training29 programs
- CNA classes28 programs
- Medical assistant training30 programs
- Phlebotomy training3 programs
- Welding classes37 programs
- HVAC training14 programs
- Medical billing and coding training13 programs
- LPN programs19 programs
- EMT classes16 programs
- Electrician training8 programs
- Dental assistant programs12 programs
- Auto mechanic classes6 programs
- Pharmacy technician training9 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training6 programs
- Carpentry classes2 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training6 programs
- Cybersecurity training4 programs
- IT training16 programs
- Surgical tech programs3 programs
- Radiology tech programs8 programs
- Culinary school2 programs
- PTA programs5 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training13 programs
- Medication aide training10 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training16 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school6 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training4 programs
- Coding and software development courses1 program
- Sterile processing technician training1 program
- Sonography school6 programs
- Data analytics courses1 program
- Respiratory therapy programs5 programs
- Medical lab technician programs4 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses3 programs
- Health information technology programs6 programs
- Patient care technician training7 programs
- Manufacturing technician training7 programs
- Electronics technician training6 programs
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- OSHA safety training1 program
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training2 programs
- Construction training programs3 programs
- Dental hygiene programs1 program
- RN programs23 programs
Where the Alabama lineman program numbers come from
Which Alabama lineman programs are on this list?
These are the lineman programs Alabama approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alabama offers.
How the prices and results of Alabama lineman programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Alabama figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Alabama among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Alabama: its rates sit far below every other state's.
Sources for the facts about lineman school in Alabama
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Line Installers and Repairers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns