Electrician training in Idaho
14 electrician training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
8 schools offer these electrician programs, and Idaho has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electricians install, maintain and repair electrical power, communications, lighting and control systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid on-the-job training, and most states require electricians to pass a test and be licensed.1
In Idaho, 13 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma and 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 14 programs here are electrician apprenticeship (13 programs) and electrician (associate degree, 1 program).
See the 14 programsHow much does electrician training cost in Idaho?
$2,590 to $3,700 is what most electrician training programs in Idaho cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 13 programs with a price. All of them: $2,390 to $8,100
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 93%
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Idaho's rates sit far below every other state's
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- None of the 14 programs report it
- Length
- 32 to 102 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Idaho may also offer electrician training. How these figures are made
All 14 electrician training programs in Idaho approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Electrical Apprenticeship
College of Southern Idaho - Workforce Training
Twin Falls
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,390Program website, Electrical Apprenticeship at College of Southern Idaho - Workforce TrainingMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship at College of Southern Idaho - Workforce Training
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,400
- Students counted
- 1,231
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,390
Electrical Apprenticeship
College of Eastern Idaho - WTCE
Idaho Falls
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,100School website, Electrical Apprenticeship at College of Eastern Idaho - WTCEMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship at College of Eastern Idaho - WTCE
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 120 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,550
- Students counted
- 823
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,100
Electrical Apprenticeship
Idaho State University - Workforce Training
Pocatello
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,440Program website, Electrical Apprenticeship at Idaho State University - Workforce TrainingMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship at Idaho State University - Workforce Training
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,590
- Students counted
- 691
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,440
Electrical 1st year Apprenticeship
North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
Post Falls
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,700More details about Electrical 1st year Apprenticeship at North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 581
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,700
Electrical Apprenticeship Year 4
College of Western Idaho - Workforce
Nampa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,590School website, Electrical Apprenticeship Year 4 at College of Western Idaho - WorkforceMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship Year 4 at College of Western Idaho - Workforce
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 542
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,590
Electrical Apprentice
Workforce Training at LC State
Lewiston
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,518Program website, Electrical Apprentice at Workforce Training at LC StateMore details about Electrical Apprentice at Workforce Training at LC State
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,698
- Students counted
- 535
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,518
Electrical 2nd year Apprenticeship
North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
Post Falls
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,700More details about Electrical 2nd year Apprenticeship at North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 404
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,700
Electrical 3rd year Apprenticeship
North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
Post Falls
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,700More details about Electrical 3rd year Apprenticeship at North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 325
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,700
Electrical 4th year Apprenticeship
North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
Post Falls
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,700More details about Electrical 4th year Apprenticeship at North Idaho College Workforce Training Center
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 273
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,700
Electrical Apprenticehip
Independent Electrical Contractors of Idaho (IEC Idaho)
Boise
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,190More details about Electrical Apprenticehip at Independent Electrical Contractors of Idaho (IEC Idaho)
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 144 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,165
- Students counted
- 215
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,190
Electrical Apprenticeship Year 1
College of Western Idaho - Workforce
Nampa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,5909 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Electrical Apprenticeship Year 1 at College of Western Idaho - WorkforceMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship Year 1 at College of Western Idaho - Workforce
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,349
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,590
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Electrical Apprenticeship Year 2
College of Western Idaho - Workforce
Nampa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,5905 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Electrical Apprenticeship Year 2 at College of Western Idaho - WorkforceMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship Year 2 at College of Western Idaho - Workforce
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 677
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,590
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Electrical Apprenticeship Year 3
College of Western Idaho - Workforce
Nampa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,590School website, Electrical Apprenticeship Year 3 at College of Western Idaho - WorkforceMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship Year 3 at College of Western Idaho - Workforce
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 553
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,590
Electrical Apprenticeship
College of Western Idaho - Credit
Nampa
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outMore details about Electrical Apprenticeship at College of Western Idaho - Credit
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for electrician training in Idaho
WIOA funding can pay for electrician training in Idaho
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Paid electrician apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for electrician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for electrician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Electrician training in Idaho
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 15th of 34
- electrician training programs here, against the typical state's 12
- 14 vs 12
State comparisons use the same figures as the electrician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Electrician apprenticeships in Idaho
Most electricians train in a four- or five-year apprenticeship. Each year usually brings about 2,000 hours of paid work on the job plus classes in electrical theory, blueprint reading, math, the electrical code and safety. Unions and contractor associations run most programs, and experience from the military or construction can shorten one. When you finish, you are a journey worker and can work on your own, subject to your state license.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. This page lists 13 electrician apprenticeships approved for WIOA funding in Idaho. Ask what you'll pay for the classes and what you'll earn on the job.
Electrician training in Boise City, Coeur d'Alene, Twin Falls and other Idaho cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Idaho
How electrician training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Idaho
- CDL training28 programs
- CNA classes8 programs
- Medical assistant training4 programs
- Phlebotomy training6 programs
- Welding classes12 programs
- HVAC training11 programs
- Medical billing and coding training8 programs
- LPN programs3 programs
- EMT classes4 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes4 programs
- Pharmacy technician training4 programs
- Plumbing school15 programs
- CNC machinist training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training4 programs
- IT training5 programs
- Massage therapy school2 programs
- Paralegal programs3 programs
- Police academy1 program
- Radiology tech programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training10 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training2 programs
- Community health worker training1 program
- Coding and software development courses2 programs
- Lineman school2 programs
- Administrative assistant training3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs1 program
- Health information technology programs1 program
- Real estate school2 programs
- Patient care technician training1 program
- Construction training programs1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes4 programs
- RN programs1 program
Where the Idaho electrician program numbers come from
Which Idaho electrician programs are on this list?
These are the electrician programs Idaho approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Idaho offers.
How the prices and results of Idaho electrician programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Idaho figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for Idaho: its rates sit far below every other state's.
Sources for the facts about electrician training in Idaho
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electricians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List