Retraining Report
Find training

Cosmetology school in San Juan, Puerto Rico

10 cosmetology programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these cosmetology programs with classes in the San Juan-Bayamón-Caguas area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Hairstylists and cosmetologists shampoo, cut, color and style hair. Every state requires a license: you finish a state-approved program, which usually leads to a certificate, and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In San Juan, 3 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 10 programs

All 18 cosmetology programs in Puerto Rico, including online programs

How much does cosmetology school cost in San Juan?

$9,238 to $11,944 is what most cosmetology programs in San Juan cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $200 to $12,411

In the typical program

Finished the program
100%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
about $13,600
Length
36 to 59 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in San Juan may also offer cosmetology school. How these figures are made

Is there free cosmetology school in San Juan?

All 10 cosmetology programs in San Juan approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetología

    Liceo De Arte Y Tecnologia

    Hato Rey

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Liceo De Arte Y Tecnologia, Hato Rey · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,411
    Program website, Cosmetología at Liceo De Arte Y Tecnologia
    More details about Cosmetología at Liceo De Arte Y Tecnologia
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    112 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,523
    Students counted
    97
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $12,411
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetologia Basica

    Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc

    Bayam N

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc, Bayam N · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$10,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,800

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetologia Basica at Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc
    More details about Cosmetologia Basica at Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc
    Finished
    99%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,600
    Length
    29 weeks, 34 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,731
    Students counted
    93
    a year, estimated
    $10,400
    price
    $9,800
    trained with WIOA funding
    7
  • Cosmetology license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetología

    NOVA College de Puerto Rico

    Bayamon

    High school diploma or equivalent

    NOVA College de Puerto Rico, Bayamon · Cosmetology license program · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$15,600
    Price if you pay yourself$10,874

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetología at NOVA College de Puerto Rico
    More details about Cosmetología at NOVA College de Puerto Rico
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,900
    Length
    48 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $688
    Students counted
    83
    a year, estimated
    $15,600
    price
    $10,874
    trained with WIOA funding
    5
  • Cosmetology license programHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetología Profesional

    Industrial Technical College

    Humacao

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Industrial Technical College, Humacao · Cosmetology license program · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$15,100
    Price if you pay yourself$12,300
    School website, Cosmetología Profesional at Industrial Technical College
    More details about Cosmetología Profesional at Industrial Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,770
    Length
    60 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    42
    a year, estimated
    $15,100
    price
    $12,300
  • Advanced, crossover or short courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetología Avanzada

    NOVA College de Puerto Rico

    Bayamon

    No diploma needed

    NOVA College de Puerto Rico, Bayamon · Advanced, crossover or short course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$11,600
    Price if you pay yourself$200
    Program website, Cosmetología Avanzada at NOVA College de Puerto Rico
    More details about Cosmetología Avanzada at NOVA College de Puerto Rico
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,890
    Length
    32 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    25
    a year, estimated
    $11,600
    price
    $200
  • Advanced, crossover or short courseIn personEducation and courses

    Cosmetologia Avanzada

    Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc

    Bayam N

    Education and courses

    Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc, Bayam N · Advanced, crossover or short course · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$13,300
    Price if you pay yourself$9,050
    Program website, Cosmetologia Avanzada at Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc
    More details about Cosmetologia Avanzada at Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,315
    Length
    26 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,573
    Students counted
    18
    a year, estimated
    $13,300
    price
    $9,050
  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetología

    NUC University

    Fajardo

    No diploma needed

    NUC University, Fajardo · Cosmetology license program · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$14,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,598
    Program website, Cosmetología at NUC University
    More details about Cosmetología at NUC University
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,500
    Length
    48 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $506
    Students counted
    10
    a year, estimated
    $14,000
    price
    $10,598
  • Advanced, crossover or short courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetología Avanzada

    Caribbean University

    Bayam N

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Caribbean University, Bayam N · Advanced, crossover or short course · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,840
    Program website, Cosmetología Avanzada at Caribbean University
    More details about Cosmetología Avanzada at Caribbean University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 21 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,445
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,840
  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetología

    D'Mart Institute

    Barranquitas

    No diploma needed

    D'Mart Institute, Barranquitas · Cosmetology license program · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,400
    Program website, Cosmetología at D'Mart Institute
    More details about Cosmetología at D'Mart Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    56 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $10,400
  • Cosmetology license programSeveral formatsHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetología

    NUC University

    Carolina

    High school diploma or equivalent

    NUC University, Carolina · Cosmetology license program · Several formats · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,327
    Program website, Cosmetología at NUC University
    More details about Cosmetología at NUC University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,522
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $12,327

How to pay for cosmetology school in San Juan

WIOA funding can pay for cosmetology school in San Juan

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for cosmetology school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for cosmetology school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the San Juan cosmetology program numbers come from

Which San Juan cosmetology programs are on this list?

These are the cosmetology programs with classes in the San Juan-Bayamón-Caguas area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Puerto Rico page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How San Juan cosmetology program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some cosmetology programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Puerto Rico figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Puerto Rico among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Puerto Rico: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.

Sources for the facts about cosmetology school in San Juan

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns