Barber school in Puerto Rico
18 barber programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these barber programs, and Puerto Rico has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Puerto Rico, 8 of the 18 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 18 programsHow much does barber school cost in Puerto Rico?
$10,360 to $11,445 is what most barber programs in Puerto Rico cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 17 programs with a price. All of them: $6,820 to $12,411
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 100%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $11,900
- Length
- 48 to 60 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Puerto Rico may also offer barber school. How these figures are made
Barber school in San Juan, Ponce, Guayama and other Puerto Rico cities
Choosing an area filters the list below.
All 18 barber programs in Puerto Rico approved for WIOA funding
Filters
18 programs
Barbería
Liceo De Arte Y Tecnologia
Hato Rey
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$12,411Program website, Barbería at Liceo De Arte Y TecnologiaMore details about Barbería at Liceo De Arte Y Tecnologia
- Finished
- 47%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 112 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,665
- Students counted
- 114
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $12,411
Barbería
Instituto Educativo Premier
Ponce
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$11,600Price if you pay yourself$10,3603 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Barbería at Instituto Educativo PremierMore details about Barbería at Instituto Educativo Premier
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,890
- Length
- 60 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,280
- Students counted
- 109
- a year, estimated
- $11,600
- price
- $10,360
- trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Barberia
Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc
Bayam N
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,500Price if you pay yourself$9,8005 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Barberia at Modern Hairstyling Institute, IncMore details about Barberia at Modern Hairstyling Institute, Inc
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,125
- Length
- 29 weeks, 34 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,032
- Students counted
- 106
- a year, estimated
- $32,500
- price
- $9,800
- trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Barbería y Estilismo
NUC University
Guayama
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$11,900Price if you pay yourself$12,327Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NUC UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NUC University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,980
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,338
- Students counted
- 105
- a year, estimated
- $11,900
- price
- $12,327
Master en Barbería
NUC University
Aguadilla
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,220Program website, Master en Barbería at NUC UniversityMore details about Master en Barbería at NUC University
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $774
- Students counted
- 100
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,220
Barbería y Estilismo
NOVA College de Puerto Rico
Bayamon
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$10,400Price if you pay yourself$11,7454 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NOVA College de Puerto RicoMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NOVA College de Puerto Rico
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,600
- Length
- 48 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $667
- Students counted
- 88
- a year, estimated
- $10,400
- price
- $11,745
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Barbería y Estilismo
NUC University
Mayaguez
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$14,000Price if you pay yourself$10,7983 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NUC UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NUC University
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,500
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $322
- Students counted
- 60
- a year, estimated
- $14,000
- price
- $10,798
- trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Barbería y Estilismo
NUC University
Carolina
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$14,000Price if you pay yourself$10,798Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NUC UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NUC University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,500
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $322
- Students counted
- 20
- a year, estimated
- $14,000
- price
- $10,798
Barbería y Estilismo
NUC University
Ponce
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$11,500Price if you pay yourself$10,798Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NUC UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NUC University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,880
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $321
- Students counted
- 20
- a year, estimated
- $11,500
- price
- $10,798
Barbería Profesional
Industrial Technical College
Humacao
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$13,300Price if you pay yourself$12,300School website, Barbería Profesional at Industrial Technical CollegeMore details about Barbería Profesional at Industrial Technical College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,315
- Length
- 60 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 20
- a year, estimated
- $13,300
- price
- $12,300
Barbería y Estilismo
NUC University
Yauco
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$11,600Price if you pay yourself$10,798Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NUC UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NUC University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,900
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $322
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- $11,600
- price
- $10,798
Barbería y Estilismo
Academia Serrant
Sabana Grande
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$8,700Price if you pay yourself$11,445Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at Academia SerrantMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at Academia Serrant
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,175
- Length
- 48 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,925
- Students counted
- 14
- a year, estimated
- $8,700
- price
- $11,445
Barbería y Estilismo
NUC University
Fajardo
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$14,000Price if you pay yourself$10,798Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at NUC UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at NUC University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,500
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $322
- Students counted
- 10
- a year, estimated
- $14,000
- price
- $10,798
Master Advanced Barber
Instituto Educativo Premier
Ponce
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,820Program website, Master Advanced Barber at Instituto Educativo PremierMore details about Master Advanced Barber at Instituto Educativo Premier
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 40 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $785
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,820
Barbería y Estilismo
Caribbean University
Bayam N
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,219Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at Caribbean UniversityMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at Caribbean University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 66 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,644
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $9,219
Barbería y Estilismo
Colegio Mayor de Tecnolog'a
Arroyo
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,365Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at Colegio Mayor de Tecnolog'aMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at Colegio Mayor de Tecnolog'a
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 60 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,365
Barbería y Estilismo
D'Mart Institute
Barranquitas
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,400Program website, Barbería y Estilismo at D'Mart InstituteMore details about Barbería y Estilismo at D'Mart Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 56 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,400
Nivel Secundario con Modalidad Acelerada con Barbería y Estilismo
Academia Serrant
Ponce
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedSchool website, Nivel Secundario con Modalidad Acelerada con Barbería y Estilismo at Academia SerrantMore details about Nivel Secundario con Modalidad Acelerada con Barbería y Estilismo at Academia Serrant
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 80 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for barber school in Puerto Rico
WIOA funding can pay for barber school in Puerto Rico
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for barber school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for barber school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Barber school in Puerto Rico
- programs with a price cost under $10,000
- 4 of 17
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 9th of 11
- most barber programs of any state, after California and Washington
- 3rd
State comparisons use the same figures as the barber school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Puerto Rico barber program numbers come from
Which Puerto Rico barber programs are on this list?
These are the barber programs Puerto Rico approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Puerto Rico offers.
How Puerto Rico barber program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some barber programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
How reliable are the Puerto Rico figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Puerto Rico among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Puerto Rico: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.
Other training in Puerto Rico
- Welding classes3 programs
- HVAC training9 programs
- Medical billing and coding training10 programs
- LPN programs5 programs
- EMT classes7 programs
- Electrician training5 programs
- Dental assistant programs6 programs
- Auto mechanic classes7 programs
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training2 programs
- Diesel mechanic training1 program
- IT training1 program
- Cosmetology school18 programs
- Esthetician school6 programs
- Nail tech school10 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes3 programs
- RN programs12 programs
Sources for the facts about barber school in Puerto Rico
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns