Coding and software development courses in Puerto Rico
2 coding and software programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
1 school offers these software development programs, and Puerto Rico has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Computer programmers write, change and test the code that makes software and apps work. Most have a bachelor's degree, but some employers hire people with other training or experience in specific programming languages, and programmers can get certified in a language.1
In Puerto Rico, both programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
Both are the same kind of program: programming or software development (associate degree).
See the 2 programsHow much do coding and software development courses cost in Puerto Rico?
$14,280
is the price of each of the 2 programs with a price, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
- Length
- 70 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Puerto Rico may also offer coding and software development courses. How these figures are made
All 2 coding and software programs in Puerto Rico approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Grado Asociado en Ciencias en Programación de computadoras
Caribbean University
Bayam N
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$14,280Program website, Grado Asociado en Ciencias en Programación de computadoras at Caribbean UniversityMore details about Grado Asociado en Ciencias en Programación de computadoras at Caribbean University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 70 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,065
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,280
Grado Asociado en Programación en Ciencias de Computadoras
Caribbean University
Bayam N
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$14,280Program website, Grado Asociado en Programación en Ciencias de Computadoras at Caribbean UniversityMore details about Grado Asociado en Programación en Ciencias de Computadoras at Caribbean University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 70 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,065
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,280
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for coding and software development courses in Puerto Rico
WIOA funding can pay for coding and software development courses in Puerto Rico
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for coding and software development courses
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for coding and software development courses
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Puerto Rico
How coding and software development courses compare with the rest of computers and IT: IT certification programs in Puerto Rico
- Welding classes3 programs
- HVAC training9 programs
- Medical billing and coding training11 programs
- LPN programs8 programs
- EMT classes7 programs
- Electrician training6 programs
- Dental assistant programs6 programs
- Auto mechanic classes8 programs
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training2 programs
- Diesel mechanic training1 program
- IT training8 programs
- Cosmetology school18 programs
- Barber school18 programs
- Esthetician school6 programs
- Nail tech school10 programs
- Massage therapy school5 programs
- Radiology tech programs6 programs
- Culinary school32 programs
- Home health aide training4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training9 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training1 program
- Early childhood education programs4 programs
- Hospitality management programs2 programs
- Sonography school3 programs
- Administrative assistant training11 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs3 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses2 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses5 programs
- Vet tech programs3 programs
- Patient care technician training2 programs
- OTA programs1 program
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Customer service training2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs2 programs
- Electronics technician training2 programs
- Business administration programs3 programs
- Criminal justice programs2 programs
- Teacher assistant certification1 program
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Optician training1 program
- Masonry training1 program
- Construction training programs6 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes4 programs
- RN programs12 programs
Where the Puerto Rico software development program numbers come from
Which Puerto Rico software development programs are on this list?
These are the software development programs Puerto Rico approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Puerto Rico offers.
How the prices and results of Puerto Rico software development programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Puerto Rico figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Puerto Rico among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share who finished for Puerto Rico: half of its programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states. We leave out the share working 6 months later for Puerto Rico: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.
Sources for the facts about coding and software development courses in Puerto Rico
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Programmers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns