Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Coding and software development courses in San Francisco, California

15 coding and software programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these software development programs with classes in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 7 of these 15 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Computer programmers write, change and test the code that makes software and apps work. Most have a bachelor's degree, but some employers hire people with other training or experience in specific programming languages, and programmers can get certified in a language.1

In San Francisco, 7 of the 15 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 8 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 15 programs here are programming language or developer tool course (6 programs), web development course (3 programs), software or app development certificate (2 programs), programming or software development (associate degree, 2 programs), and 2 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 15 programs

All 69 coding and software programs in California, including online programs

How much do coding and software development courses cost in San Francisco?

$552 to $952 is what most coding and software programs in San Francisco cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $552 to $2,760

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 15 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 15 programs report it
Length
16 to 58 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in San Francisco may also offer coding and software development courses. How these figures are made

Are there free coding and software development courses in San Francisco?

All 15 coding and software programs in San Francisco approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

15 programs

  • Software developer apprenticeshipHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    TechSF Apprenticeship (Software Engineer/ Application Developer)

    CCSF Office of Economic&Workforce Development-Apprenticeship

    San Francisco

    High school diploma or equivalent

    CCSF Office of Economic&Workforce Development-Apprenticeship, San FranciscoSoftware developer apprenticeshipHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, TechSF Apprenticeship (Software Engineer/ Application Developer) at CCSF Office of Economic&Workforce Development-Apprenticeship
    More details about TechSF Apprenticeship (Software Engineer/ Application Developer) at CCSF Office of Economic&Workforce Development-Apprenticeship
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, TechSF Apprenticeship (Software Engineer/ Application Developer) at CCSF Office of Economic&Workforce Development-Apprenticeship
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    COMSC - Mobile and Enterprise Java Programming (certificate)

    Diablo Valley College

    Pleasant Hill

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Diablo Valley College, Pleasant HillProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$552
    Program website, COMSC - Mobile and Enterprise Java Programming (certificate) at Diablo Valley College
    More details about COMSC - Mobile and Enterprise Java Programming (certificate) at Diablo Valley College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $717
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $552
    Program website, COMSC - Mobile and Enterprise Java Programming (certificate) at Diablo Valley College
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Science - Advanced C++ Programming

    Diablo Valley College

    Pleasant Hill

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Diablo Valley College, Pleasant HillProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$552
    School website, Computer Science - Advanced C++ Programming at Diablo Valley College
    More details about Computer Science - Advanced C++ Programming at Diablo Valley College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $552
    School website, Computer Science - Advanced C++ Programming at Diablo Valley College
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Science - Advanced Java Programming

    Diablo Valley College

    Pleasant Hill

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Diablo Valley College, Pleasant HillProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$552
    School website, Computer Science - Advanced Java Programming at Diablo Valley College
    More details about Computer Science - Advanced Java Programming at Diablo Valley College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $552
    School website, Computer Science - Advanced Java Programming at Diablo Valley College
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Science - Mobile and enterprise Java programming

    Diablo Valley College

    Pleasant Hill

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Diablo Valley College, Pleasant HillProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$552
    School website, Computer Science - Mobile and enterprise Java programming at Diablo Valley College
    More details about Computer Science - Mobile and enterprise Java programming at Diablo Valley College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $592
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $552
    School website, Computer Science - Mobile and enterprise Java programming at Diablo Valley College
  • Software or app development certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Science - Program Design (certificate)

    Diablo Valley College

    Pleasant Hill

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Diablo Valley College, Pleasant HillSoftware or app development certificate · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$552
    School website, Computer Science - Program Design (certificate) at Diablo Valley College
    More details about Computer Science - Program Design (certificate) at Diablo Valley College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $688
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $552
    School website, Computer Science - Program Design (certificate) at Diablo Valley College
  • Software testing and QA courseHybridEducation and courses

    Build Automation for DevOps & QA

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoSoftware testing and QA course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$598
    More details about Build Automation for DevOps & QA at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 9 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $32
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $598
  • Web development courseHybridEducation and courses

    Security for Web App Development Certificate of Accomplishment

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoWeb development course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$722
    More details about Security for Web App Development Certificate of Accomplishment at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    80 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $722
  • Web development courseHybridEducation and courses

    Mobile Web App Development Certificate of Achievement

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoWeb development course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$768
    More details about Mobile Web App Development Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    86 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $768
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridEducation and courses

    Computer Programming: C++ Certificate of Achievement

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$860
    More details about Computer Programming: C++ Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    35 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $310
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $860
  • Software or app development certificateHybridEducation and courses

    Android App Programming Certificate of Achievement

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoSoftware or app development certificate · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$952
    More details about Android App Programming Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    35 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $210
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $952
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridEducation and courses

    Computer Programming: Java Certificate of Achievement

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$952
    More details about Computer Programming: Java Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    35 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $225
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $952
  • Web development courseHybridEducation and courses

    Web Application Programming Certificate of Achievement

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoWeb development course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$952
    More details about Web Application Programming Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    35 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $105
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $952
  • Programming or software development (associate degree)HybridPrerequisite courses

    AS Degree Computer Information Systems: Computer Programming

    Contra Costa College

    San Pablo

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Contra Costa College, San PabloProgramming or software development (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,760
    School website, AS Degree Computer Information Systems: Computer Programming at Contra Costa College
    More details about AS Degree Computer Information Systems: Computer Programming at Contra Costa College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $638
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,760
    School website, AS Degree Computer Information Systems: Computer Programming at Contra Costa College
  • Programming or software development (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    COMSC: Computer Science Associate in Science Degree

    Diablo Valley College

    Pleasant Hill

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Diablo Valley College, Pleasant HillProgramming or software development (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,760
    Program website, COMSC: Computer Science Associate in Science Degree at Diablo Valley College
    More details about COMSC: Computer Science Associate in Science Degree at Diablo Valley College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,132
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,760
    Program website, COMSC: Computer Science Associate in Science Degree at Diablo Valley College

How to pay for coding and software development courses in San Francisco

WIOA funding can pay for coding and software development courses in San Francisco

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for coding and software development courses

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for coding and software development courses

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in San Francisco

How coding and software development courses compare with the rest of computers and IT across California: IT certification programs in California

Where the San Francisco software development program numbers come from

Which San Francisco software development programs are on this list?

These are the software development programs with classes in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the California page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How the prices and results of San Francisco software development programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about coding and software development courses in San Francisco

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Programmers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List