CNA classes in Raleigh, North Carolina
10 CNA (certified nursing assistant) programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these nursing assistant programs with classes in the Raleigh-Cary area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Nursing assistants give basic care and help patients with everyday tasks. To work as one, you usually finish a state-approved program and pass your state's competency exam, which puts you on the state registry.1 Federal rules require state-approved nurse aide programs for nursing homes to run at least 75 hours, including at least 16 hours of supervised hands-on practice. If a nursing home employs you or has offered you a job when you start, it can't charge you for the program.2
In Raleigh, 2 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 10 programs here are nursing assistant (CNA, 8 programs), refresher or continuing education (1 program) and advanced nursing assistant (level II, 1 program).
See the 10 programsAll 113 CNA programs in North Carolina, including online programs
How much do CNA classes cost in Raleigh?
$255 to $700 is what most CNA programs in Raleigh cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $250 to $950
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 5 to 15 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Raleigh may also offer CNA classes. How these figures are made
All 10 CNA programs in Raleigh approved for WIOA funding
Filters
10 programs
WCE - Nurse Aide I
Wake Technical Community College
Raleigh
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$24,600Price if you pay yourself$250School website, WCE - Nurse Aide I at Wake Technical Community CollegeMore details about WCE - Nurse Aide I at Wake Technical Community College
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,151
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $307
- Students counted
- 836
- Earned a year, estimated
- $24,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $250
Certified Nurse Aide I
Shades Of Purple
Raleigh
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,400Price if you pay yourself$7003 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Certified Nurse Aide I at Shades Of PurpleMore details about Certified Nurse Aide I at Shades Of Purple
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 32%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,345
- Length
- 15 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $250
- Students counted
- 62
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $700
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
WCE - Certified Nursing Assistant
Wake Technical Community College
Raleigh
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$31,100Price if you pay yourself$250Program website, WCE - Certified Nursing Assistant at Wake Technical Community CollegeMore details about WCE - Certified Nursing Assistant at Wake Technical Community College
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- 95%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,783
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $250
Nurse Aide 1 (CNA1)- Day
Care One Health Training Institute
Raleigh
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$20,500Price if you pay yourself$8006 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Nurse Aide 1 (CNA1)- Day at Care One Health Training InstituteMore details about Nurse Aide 1 (CNA1)- Day at Care One Health Training Institute
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,115
- Length
- 4 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $255
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- $20,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $800
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 6
Wce - CNA I
Wake Technical Community College
Raleigh
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$250School website, Wce - CNA I at Wake Technical Community CollegeMore details about Wce - CNA I at Wake Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $307
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $250
Certified Nurse Aide I
Johnston Community College
Smithfield
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$269School website, Certified Nurse Aide I at Johnston Community CollegeMore details about Certified Nurse Aide I at Johnston Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $413
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $269
Nurse Aide 1 Refresher
Shades Of Purple
Raleigh
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$450Program website, Nurse Aide 1 Refresher at Shades Of PurpleMore details about Nurse Aide 1 Refresher at Shades Of Purple
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $450
Nurse Aide II
Shades Of Purple
Raleigh
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$550Program website, Nurse Aide II at Shades Of PurpleMore details about Nurse Aide II at Shades Of Purple
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $550
Nurse Aide 1
Legacy U Healthcare Consulting & Training Center
Raleigh
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$700Program website, Nurse Aide 1 at Legacy U Healthcare Consulting & Training CenterMore details about Nurse Aide 1 at Legacy U Healthcare Consulting & Training Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $221
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $700
Certified Nursing Assistant I
Classic Training Academy
Raleigh
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$950Program website, Certified Nursing Assistant I at Classic Training AcademyMore details about Certified Nursing Assistant I at Classic Training Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $50
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $950
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CNA classes in Raleigh
WIOA funding can pay for CNA classes in Raleigh
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for CNA classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for CNA classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Raleigh
How CNA classes compare with the rest of nursing and patient care across North Carolina: Nursing and patient care programs in North Carolina
Where the Raleigh nursing assistant program numbers come from
Which Raleigh nursing assistant programs are on this list?
These are the nursing assistant programs with classes in the Raleigh-Cary area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the North Carolina page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How the prices and results of Raleigh nursing assistant programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about CNA classes in Raleigh
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 42 CFR 483.152, Requirements for approval of a nurse aide training and competency evaluation program
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List